Skip to content

Food bloggers

March 15, 2008

Why do they like to blog about expensive food? How come so few people are writing about food that normal people eat?

Its always Madam Kwan’s la, Italianies la, and all those places I can’t afford. I admit, some good bloggers like KY do cover hawker fare but many of them just target chic cafes and swanky restaurants. I sometimes wonder, are these really food blogs or are they glamor blogs disguised as food blogs?

Here’s a few reasons why I wish there are more blogs about hawker fare.

  1. That’s what most of us eat.
  2. That’s what the kwai lohs (tourists) come here to eat.
  3. They generally taste better, better than Mdm Kwan’s or not-so-Secret Recipe.
  4. There’s enough varieties to report. I actually came across 4 or 5 different strains of popiah in PJ alone.
  5. Million dollar restaurant chains have million-dollar advertising budgets. They don’t pay you one red cent to whore their stuff. Why not help promote some poor uncle-and-auntie hawkers for a change. You know they’ll appreciate it.

If I had a camera I would start a blog on street food you can get for less than $10 but the only camera I have is on my phone and the photo quality is crap. Oh well, maybe some day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2008 9:24 am

    try malaysianfoodreview.com

    it is not a blog..but a food portal

  2. damien permalink*
    March 16, 2008 11:33 pm

    Hi. I checked it out and like the section “latest eat-out” the most. But dude, how come no photos?

Leave a Reply

