Skip to content

Why we need money

March 17, 2008

I had some stray thoughts as I often do when I was driving home yesterday. The thought of the day was why do we need money? I know what you’re thinking… to buy food and things lah! Yes but that’s not what I mean. What I mean is is there something else about money besides the mundane things it can buy?

The more I thought about it, the more money begins to look like a passport. Without this passport, no doors will open and we’ll be shut out from society. Without it, nobody will accept us.

But acceptance and survival are two different things. Technically you don’t need money to survive. Just pack off to some remote island, build a good fish trap from sticks and live off the land. If you know what you’re doing, you can actually live quite well.

I doubt if anyone will follow you but on the other hand, you’ll have no problems with the rat race. There are no friends and relatives to impress, no pressure to conform to anything. And yet we don’t prefer that.

So my conclusion is, the real reason why we need money is because we want need to be around people. We are psychologically dependent on others, we’re terrified of being isolated, and money buys us things that keep us around people. That’s the true reason why we insist on having money.

What got me started thinking all this? Groping the dashboard for coins to pay toll.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2008 2:17 am

    Nowadays money got ultimate power, but love is still in the air…

  2. damien permalink*
    March 18, 2008 2:43 am

    Hi, yes we can do a lot of things with money and I believe love can be found with or without money.

Leave a Reply

