Skip to content

Just for you?

April 21, 2008

I overheard the latest KFC jingle over lunch yesterday, the one they sampled from an oldie hit single “Downtown.” The one that said they prepared some food product “just for you”. Nice tune.

It warms my heart that KFC paid a few hundred thousand $$ on a TV ad to tell me they have a product specially made just for me. No, not for my friends or anyone that happened to be within earshot of the jingle. Just me.

Actually one guy at the night market also told me the same thing. “Sir, I give you 20% discount, just for you sir.” We’ve only met for like 5 seconds and he concluded I’m so special I deserved a unique discount. Wow. I guess he gave other people less discount (or is it more I’m not sure) but whatever it is, it warms my heart to know I’m special enough for him to make an exception, just like the KFC ad.

But wait, I take that back. Mr Pasar Malam meets me for 5 seconds, offers me a just-for-you deal. Ms KFC jingle hadn’t even met me yet and she came to the same conclusion. So the KFC lady’s more generous then! Wow!

Did the people at KFC Advertising &Promotions department go to the same advertising school as the guy at the pasar malam? An intriguing thought.

(This is a parody lah. I think the KFC ad’s lyrics build just as much credibility with its customers as me going around whispering “I devote myself just for you” to every girl I meet. How lame can you get.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2008 12:42 am

    That sounds like the guy with a pocket full of Valentine cards going around after the neighborhood girls…

  2. Damien permalink*
    April 22, 2008 8:52 pm

    If you get 5 responses for every 100 cards, that’s great ROI according to standard advertising patterns. Yes, there will be enough gurls who are desperate to give it a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

