Skip to content

Positive thinking or wishful thinking?

May 13, 2008

“You can do it. Must think positive lah.”

Boy I must have heard that sentence about 5-6 times yesterday from my female friends / associates. I’ve been thinking hard about how to cross the $500k revenue target by June 30th when my financial year ends. I am only 75% there.

I laughed. My immediate response to them was, “Is that positive thinking or wishful thinking?” The market need is there but the dampened worldwide economic mood has flung a spanner into things. Its not enough just to cut prices now. I have to spend more – mostly marketing cost – than I ever had to get less business than I ever had. Hmm, spend more, earn less. Doesn’t sound like a winning formula to me.

But anyway, saying you can do it without any inkling of how you can do it sounds a lot like wishful thinking to me. But believe it or not, I have come across books that recommend exactly that. Don’t worry they say, just focus on your goal (goal oriented?) and the rest will come naturally. The intense power of your positive thoughts will attract powerful mojo to you and all of a sudden, business and money will pour down from the heavens. That is the true power of positive thinking.

Yeah, right.

I can’t remember the title of those books but they exist. Wishful thinking is big business. Hmm. now that gets me thinking…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2008 6:21 pm

    they are just trying to motivate u.. just do ur best..!
    goodluck! šŸ˜‰

  2. May 13, 2008 9:28 pm

    At least you are above 50% mark.

  3. Damien permalink*
    May 14, 2008 3:19 am

    @cbenc12: yeah I know. Thanks for the good luck. šŸ™‚

    @mybabybay: actually I already met my original target. After I got lucky a couple of times, I thought why not stretch it. Trying to find out how high I can jump. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

