Skip to content

Watched Narnia: Prince Caspian

May 17, 2008

This is the first time I’m writing about a movie so bear with me. I watched Narnia, Prince Caspian last night with some friends. I came out wondering if I saw a lost sequel of Lord Of The Rings instead. Let me sum it up.

No more fantasyland

The first Narnia movie – or at least a large part of it – was set in a winter wonderland, complete with a character that reminded me of Santa Claus. Prince Caspian on the other hand is set in almost-tropical Narnia with beach scenes, green forests and grassy meadows. If you expected awesome snowscape scenes like the first movie, you’ll be disappointed. Come to think of it, you’ll see similar scenes when you drive on the interstate highway. Yah, uninspiring.

No more prophecy
In the original movie, the son of Adam was a miracle waiting to happen, a prophecy that became the story. This time, the sons of Adam outnumber Narnians a thousand to 1. The story centers around Prince Caspian the Jerk, an upstart son-of-a-king who’s not emotionally fit to manage a hot dog stand let alone a kingdom. The magical Narnian creatures are relegated to minor roles and became no more than the occasional eye candy. You’ll see no more talking beavers, foxes or wolves. Just a talking badger and a few talking mice. The focus of the story is on the villainous humans of the Telmarine kingdom, a Mordor-like place that bordered Narnia. Rogue King Miraz and his generals and his irritating nephew Caspian got the most airtime. No, I’m afraid this story is no longer about Narnia.

No more enchanted epic battles
Oh there are battle scenes all right, just not the kind we saw in the original movie. This time the epic battles took place in a football field. Well what else would you call a little patch of green lawn surrounded by trees. I half expected to catch a glimpse of goalposts on each end but didn’t find any. The battle scenes were more King Arthurish than the minotaur versus polar bear kind. The few Narnian creatures in King Peter’s tiny army were hardly visible. The cameras were virtually locked on King Peter, King Miraz, King Peter, King Miraz, occasionally on Prince Caspian the Stupid Idiot. And oh, the part about the trees and the water spirits helping out very briefly at the last part of the battle. Nice try to insert some magic but you know what? Afterthoughts don’t add much to the overall plot.

No more feel good scenes
My most uplifting recollection of the original Narnia movie was the personable beavers, the rescue of Mr. Tumnus, Aslan’s return from the dead and the 4 kids’ coronation. That movie felt like Christmas. It was after all shown over the holiday season. Not this sequel though. This one is more like Mordor of Lord Of The Rings and why not. A good chunk of it is set in the dark surroundings of King Miraz’s castle anyway where Saruman would fit right in. In fact the overall color tone and direction of the movie has turned subdued and sombre, completely out of character with the original movie.

I was disappointed. The only thing I liked about this movie is that Aslan is alive and Peter will grow up to look like Mika Hakkinen, one of my favorite Formula 1 drivers. The bad news is that if Prince Caspian the Jerk is going to take over the Narnia franchise, this will be the last Narnia flick I’ll watch on the big screen. I’ll see the future ones on DVD instead. πŸ˜›

Watch this movie at your own risk.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Alisha permalink
    May 19, 2008 6:45 pm

    First of all, I must advise you that the Narnia franchise are based on the famous BOOKS by C.S. Lewis, which you clearly HAVE NOT read, hence “The bad news is that if Prince Caspian the Jerk is going to take over the Narnia franchise, this will be the last Narnia flick I’ll watch on the big screen. I’ll see the future ones on DVD instead.” Well, guess what, you’d know if you had enough skill to read a TINY CHILDREN’S BOOK! Geez, it’s like one of the first movies I’ve seen where there wasn’t enough material in the book to suffise; it’s good material, yes, but there isn’t much. Still, overall, they often made winks to specific parts in the book, which pleased me. And there were loads of good moments! Go read the friggin’ book, then review the movie, will ya!?! Maybe you would know not to expect snow when THERE’S NONE IN THE BOOK. Huh!?! It’s not as if it’s a big, stupid, Hollywood-driven sequel… they were just following the BOOK!!!

    I think I got my message to you. πŸ˜‰

    G’day, sir!

    ❀ ❀ ❀

    – Alisha

  2. Alisha permalink
    May 19, 2008 6:48 pm

    Oh, and btw, WHY WOULD THERE BE A FOOTBALL FIELD IN NARNIA!?! AND WHY DON’T YOU LIKE CASPIAN?!? HE’S LEWIS’ CHARACTER!

  3. Alisha permalink
    May 19, 2008 6:48 pm

    If you’re wondering why it was like LOTR

  4. Alisha permalink
    May 19, 2008 6:49 pm

    IT’S ‘CAUSE THEY HAD WETA WORKSHOP WORKING WITH THEM!

  5. Alisha permalink
    May 19, 2008 6:50 pm

    And Weta Workshop rocks. And the scenery was beautiful! It was shot in New Zealand, like LOTR.

  6. Alisha permalink
    May 19, 2008 6:50 pm

    Oh, and BTW, you didn’t read LOTR either, did you? Sad, sad, sad…

  7. Alisha permalink
    May 19, 2008 6:51 pm

    Okay, I’m done now.

  8. Damien permalink*
    May 20, 2008 7:37 am

    Hi Alisha, no I didn’t read the book. Didn’t have to. I didn’t know reading the book was a prerequisite to watching a movie. Anyway, I’m afraid the box office numbers on Prince Caspian sent a clear message as did the online reviews.

  9. Jim permalink
    August 27, 2008 10:39 pm

    I really love the beach in Prince Caspian(Narnia 2)…Does anyone actually know the exact location for this beach(name and country)?
    I would really appreciate some help.
    Thanks.

  10. Damien permalink*
    August 28, 2008 7:56 am

    Hi Jim, I think its New Zealand. Try do a search on imdb.com.

  11. Taylor permalink
    August 28, 2008 11:52 pm

    Damien, I don’t know what you’re on, but Prince Caspian is a great movie. I’ve seen it two and a half times, and I’m going to see it again. What I’m saying is Prince Caspian is better as a movie than a book. The book sucks, read it three times. Voyage of the Dawn Treader is good, though. But anyway, Prince Caspian is a great movie, and I think it’s the best Narnia film yet, (hence there’s only two.) So please do more research before you start spoutin’ off, thank-you very much.

    P.S. Ben Barnes (Prince Caspian) is hot.

  12. Damien permalink*
    August 29, 2008 8:49 am

    Actually my female friends enjoyed it, and I think it had something to do with the male actors. You’d understand if a male viewer sees it differently. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

