Skip to content

Hate at first sight

May 23, 2008

There is a lesson to learn from dogs and cats. One, they are natural born enemies and two, there is a dog or cat in every one of us.

Well actually, the first one is a misconception. Dogs don’t chase cats because they hate them. They chase cats because cats run. Yup, dogs will chase anything that moves fast – squirrels, frisbees, even cars. Most dogs will have absolutely no idea what to do with a cat when they catch one. Anyway, that’s not what I’m trying to get at.

Have you met people whom after just one meeting, you feel you’ve known them for years. For some strange reason you both click and even become best friends. You may have also met the opposite kind – people who hate you at first sight. Its not anything you did or said. After all you’ve never met. Somehow, just the sight of you is enough to spoil their day.

In my first job, I had a finance manager who just couldn’t stand me. I felt nothing towards her but according to my colleagues the mere mention of my name would evoke angry reactions in her. No I wasn’t chasing her (she’s not my type) and I actually didn’t know she existed at first. I mean there were 200 of us in the company. I was on the 2nd floor and she was on the 21st floor but what I was told, whenever I happened to be within sight of her, she’d go all emo that day.

As luck would have it, one day my boss called her and myself for a budget planning meeting. She didn’t know I was going to be there until it was too late. The meeting turned ugly. She seethed over a schedule conflict (had nothing to do with me – I was there on invitation) and spoke harshly whenever she had to say anything to me. Curious, my boss a called her after the meeting to find out why she was so angry. He was shocked by the answer. “I don’t know, I just don’t like him!”

That put me in a tricky spot as I had just been transfered to a position that required weekly meetings with Ms Siow. For the rest of my short stay in the company, Ms Siow would make life very difficult for me. She didn’t care to hide her annoyance from anyone either. Word spread and soon we became known as the dog and cat couple.

Maybe I was blur but until today, I still have no idea why Ms Siow went nuclear whenever I was in sight. My Buddhist friend seemed to think she was my wife in a past life, that I picked on her all the time and now its payback time. Maybe, but I feel sorry for her though. Getting angry zaps one’s energy. Getting angry without even knowing why is worse.

Ain’t karma a bitch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LC Teh permalink
    May 26, 2008 3:43 pm

    Karma…. huh. I think there’s a chance to change your destiny, but whatever happens, don’t marry her!!! again…

  2. Damien permalink*
    May 26, 2008 11:48 pm

    Haha, it happened years ago and there’s no way I’ll get hitched with someone like her. Btw I was told karma is not predestination. Its just cause and effect. Effects can be interrupted or modified by something with greater force… such as one’s actions to change one’s destiny.

Leave a Reply

