Skip to content

The motorcycle nation

June 3, 2008

That was the first thing I thought about when I heard about gas prices possibly doubling in less than 60 days.

If you’ve heaped nothing but scorn on motorcyclists, well you’ve got 2 months to ease up because you may find yourself riding one before the year is over.

Its not that bad really. Think about it. The roads will be clearer and safer. You get 40km to the liter. No more toll. No more parking fees. You get special bike lanes (some places only). And if you’ve never tried it, its actually fun to ride a bike. No, really.

You already know the cons but considering how a petrol price hike will cause the price of everything else to rise, you will need the savings just to break even. I don’t think anyone actually believes their employers will be so generous as to increase salaries by 20% on the eve of the hike.

But, as they say, every cloud has a silver lining. I just have to sit down and figure out what it is.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2008 7:30 pm

    Interesting take, and I must say, it is very much possible!

    Cheap Fuel Saga: Kiasuland vs Bolehland

  2. Damien permalink*
    June 4, 2008 1:21 pm

    Yeah. I say opening up a motorbike shop is probably a smart investment right about now.

  3. LC Teh permalink
    June 4, 2008 2:37 pm

    I’d still think twice about the motorbike. Years ago I rode one when gas was cheap but cash was harder to come by. I kept getting knocked down and 5 out of the 6 times within the 15 years, wasn’t my fault. I hate being vulnerable. Well I got knocked driving a car equal number of times but at least it only cost me money. And I decided money can’t buy back any limbs or life when I get knocked off a motorbike.

  4. Damien permalink*
    June 4, 2008 4:26 pm

    Yup, safety is the issue but if its a choice between all limbs intact and starvation and one limb missing with food on the table, desperation could force people to take that risk, especially when cheap public transport is almost nonexistent. I suspect poverty will become rampant with this move.

Leave a Reply

