Skip to content

Why car pooling is not working

June 11, 2008

On the way to the office this morning, I noticed that a vast majority of cars on the road were still single-occupancy. The BMWs, the Hondas, the Toyotas, the Protons, I could hardly find one that had more than one occupant.

Then I suppose we haven’t learnt our lesson. Maybe when gas prices hit $4 a liter it will really, and I mean really hit us.

Yes I understand that public transport is bad but even if it wasn’t, do you seriously believe that the BMW or Camry owner will actually leave his car behind to take the bus? 🙂

Remember Zorro and his faithful horse Silver? I think that’s what we’re seeing. There is a love affair between men and their steeds. The most important question on men’s minds when they socialize is “What car do you drive?”. Call it an extension of pride, ego, status or what have you but I’m pretty sure it’ll take more than gas prices to separate man from his true love.

And that’s why I think car pooling will never work among middle income men.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2008 9:55 am

    Hey there,

    I just discovered your blog last night and I must say, you write very well. I’ve gone through practically the whole of your blog since February 2008. I laughed my ass off at some of your posts while others are thought provoking. Very interesting indeed; a definite daily morning read. 😀

  2. June 11, 2008 11:26 am

    Gosh…all because of the petrol hike. From my point of view, I noticed that we Malaysians are too used to drive our own car everywhere we wanted to go. Without driving, we might as well stay at home. Even 2 streets down the road, sometimes we still drive there instead of walking. I really hope that the government will come out with a good solution, because saving is not a solution.

  3. LC Teh permalink
    June 11, 2008 12:08 pm

    Car-pooling does take a lot of sacrifice and give & take attitude. Of course the results have to be significant.

  4. June 11, 2008 2:02 pm

    yeah…malaysians love car so much. Why not cycle?
    It costs less, burn calories…and you don’t need to pay for fuel.

  5. Damien permalink*
    June 11, 2008 5:04 pm

    @dee, thanks for the compliments. I’m trying to treat writing as brain exercise. 😛

    @superman, Malaysians are a paradox. On one hand they complain about rising prices. On the other hand they can’t let go of driving to the shop around the corner. The only way to modify such behavior, I’ve concluded, is to make such habits insanely expensive – like raising petrol prices to RM30 a liter.

    @LC, you’re one of the lucky few to be enjoying car pooling. Be great if more people had the same outlook on savings.

    @yipwt, the super hot weather and mad Malaysian drivers will make cycling a killer. Having dedicated bike lanes will make it more attractive I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

