Skip to content

The Firefox 3 craze – Why I am not on board

June 19, 2008

The best thing since sliced bread doesn’t run 8 out of 10 add-ons that run on my Firefox 2. If you don’t know what that is, imagine having the latest high powered car that refuses to play your favorite CDs. Yes it makes evening and weekend excursions rather pointless.

I do take my hat off to the fine folks at Mozilla for their efforts but until FF3 can run what FF2 can, I ain’t moving to FF3.

I just got done ‘fixing’ my auto-updater tables just in case my Linux machine sneakily installs FF3 when I’m not watching (It did once and I had to live with Vista for 2 days – yuck – while I exorcised FF3 out of my notebook).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2008 9:39 am

    Well it runs all of mine. Then again, I have the Nightly Tester tools addon which overrides addon compatibility. Short of one or two addons not working, I’ve found other addons to replace what i’ve lost.

    The thing about Firefox is that you need to be a geek to work things out. Most people don’t bother geeking out to fix it. Which is sad. Not that I’m saying you should get Firefox 3. Just saying that everyone should use what their comfortable with. I hate it when geeks (or wannabe geeks) forget that the best tool is often the one that works the best for you.

  2. June 19, 2008 11:24 am

    i have just installed it run fine since i do not have much add on…and those that are on…runs fine

  3. June 19, 2008 11:34 am

    I heard FF3 is a bitch! I’m staying put with FF2 unless it automatically updates and installs then I’m screwed. =/

  4. June 19, 2008 3:57 pm

    Haven’t you heard? FF3 runs like 10x faster than FF2? I’d change for that alone. Silly people.

  5. Damien permalink*
    June 19, 2008 5:12 pm

    @edrei, I did try nightly tester and after that my ff3 began to hang intermittently so I just gave up. Too bad I’m not a hacker.

    @malaysia, if you like it, stick with it.

    @dee, if you’re on windows it shud ask you permission before it updates. Alternatively you can edit FF2’s preferences. Go to the advanced tab in preferences and disable the updates box.

    @afif, sounds like you’ve completely missed the point of my post.

  6. Accurseries permalink
    January 1, 2009 8:04 am

    qtcteqhrbwknjzrjwell, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how’s life? hope it’s introduce branch 😉

Leave a Reply

