Skip to content

Why I blog

June 21, 2008

I blog for many reasons, the biggest being to try and keep out a dyslexic-like reading problem that I had when I was a child. Dyslexia is irreversible. Since I can read now, I ruled that out. But there was a time when I had problems distinguishing alphabets from each other. I was the dumb one in school, the one with a phobia of reading anything out loud. When I hit my early teens, the condition eased off (I think), in part because my parents would force me to write.

I may have gone off the deep end in college but there’s nothing like studying math and writing code to force yourself to be precise in what you write. And to satisfy a one-time dream to write my own video games because the ones then sucked. I came out bruised and battered but had a lot more confidence. I don’t write much at work apart from short emails and the occasional proposal. I thought blogging would make up for it.

The other reason why I blog is subject matter. I have an interest in how organizations work. In particular why companies almost never do what they promise to do and why they can’t seem to escape the Peter Principle. When managers are elevated to their level of incompetence (and I bet you can name a few), you’re watching the Principle in action. It wreaks havoc on your blood pressure and shortens your lifespan. No organization I know escapes the Peter Principle, not MNCs, not Chinaman companies. Did I mention MNCs.

I know its not a popular blogosphere topic so I was prepared to have no readership let alone comments. That’s why I am happy to see a comment when I check out my blog. My appreciation to all of you who bother to say something, including regulars like LC Teh and the rest of you. You guys rock man.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. LC Teh permalink
    June 21, 2008 1:40 pm

    Hey, you’re welcome. We all need people of like minds to keep us going.

  2. June 22, 2008 12:14 am

    Hahah, there is actually a principle that represents incompetency. I am gonna forward that to all my aspiring execs.

  3. Damien permalink*
    June 22, 2008 1:38 am

    @LC, yeah that’s for sure.

    @MJ, the real culprits in my opinion are senior management; they make the decision to promote people who are either not ready or simply for the wrong reasons, like seniority. I would ‘educate’ them too.

  4. June 22, 2008 4:29 pm

    Couldn’t agree more, especially on the “Seniority”!

  5. Damien permalink*
    June 23, 2008 9:01 am

    Hi MJ, here’s a joke. In my previous company the ceo insisted that seniority will remain a major criteria in promotions. So I asked him, the most senior person in our company is our gardener who’s been there for 15 years so how come he isn’t ceo yet? He wasn’t very nice to me after that 🙂

  6. June 23, 2008 9:14 am

    Hahah that’s a good one. Its pretty similar at my organization, where we have this old hag that rambles on about her seniority and that she deserves this certain respect. What’s worst the management is indirectly encouraging her to behave like this. 😦

  7. LC Teh permalink
    June 23, 2008 4:36 pm

    One should need all 10 points added up to make the win. Seniority being one, but if you’re expert only in poking seedlings in the ground, you may make good as plant(as in trees, bushes, grass)’manager’…

    Moral: Joking at the boss’ expense can be costly.

  8. Damien permalink*
    June 24, 2008 7:32 am

    When I look around, i notice the concept of a balanced scorecard is totally alien to Asian owned companies except for a few in Sg and HK. Many chinaman ceos pretty much run their companies like their grandfathers did. Loyalty gets you 9-10ths of the points. So according to that standard the gardener should be the ceo of my ex company. The deputy shud be the security guard who’s been there about 13 years. And the actual ceo shud be a junior exec since he only joined a year.

  9. June 25, 2008 10:04 am

    Keep on blogging. It’s always interesting to hear people share their opinions on something 🙂

  10. Damien permalink*
    June 26, 2008 8:03 am

    Thanks man, and I’m grateful for your comments too.

Trackbacks

  1. » Why I blog A Teens: What The World Is Saying About A Teens

Leave a Reply

