Skip to content

Hardy is frying my computer

July 7, 2008

I don’t know why but my Ubuntu Hardy-powered HP notebook has been misbehaving. With only Firefox active, the fan goes full blast after a couple of minutes and permanently spins until I shut down. Disabling compiz didn’t stop it either.

I don’t recall ever hearing my fan spinning under Vista or Ubuntu 7.10 or even the first release of Ubuntu Hardy. It started a couple of weeks ago after some Hardy OS updates.

Man this sucks. If this goes on any longer my notebook would turn into a hovercraft. The constant whirring is driving me nuts. (Fights images of a return to SUSE in my mind.)

Wonder if anyone else has the same problem.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2008 10:38 am

    Tahnks for posting

Trackbacks

  1. Do USB notebook cooler fans work? « Damien Tan

Leave a Reply

