Skip to content

Saving Kitty

July 10, 2008

Been meaning to blog about this. I did the unthinkable last week. I was driving slowly along the congested LDP Highway when I spotted what I thought was a twitching snake by the roadside. When I got closer, I recognized it was the twitching tail of an injured cat who was lying on its side, still alive. One of the cars in front of me must have hit it. I slammed the brakes with my tyre inches away, hit the emergency flashers and sprinted out of my car to pick up the critter, much to the annoyance of the drivers behind me. Yeah, I brought the entire fast lane of the LDP to a standstill.

So I picked up the black kitty – a young teenage cat I think – dodged the cars to run to the kerb and put it on the grass. During the entire time, people were hooting their horns and shouting obscenities at me. How dare I delay their trip by 30 seconds, they must be thinking. A mini jam was starting to build up by about 100 meters. As soon as I was done, I sprinted back to my car and drove off.

I dunno about you but I don’t regret doing what I did to save a struggling critter if I knew it was about to be run over. Not everyone thinks its worth a bother I know. I’ve always thought a life is a life and if I can avoid harming it I will. Its for that same reason why I don’t go to seafood restaurants that allow you to handpick your ‘victims’.

Weird but that’s just me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2008 10:34 am

    bless your heart. hat was such a good deed to do.

  2. LC Teh permalink
    July 11, 2008 12:30 pm

    If you stop at a layby and watch the cars going by and think about what happens if you make a slip you may think twice about doing that… i.e. if you’re a family man like me.

  3. Damien permalink*
    July 12, 2008 7:51 am

    @Reta, thanks 🙂

    @LC, I would think twice if the cars were going at full speed but seeing that everyone was crawling in the jam I took advantage of it. 🙂

  4. July 12, 2008 9:33 am

    the divine law of karma 😉 states that for every action there is a reaction. u did good n u did right. it was ok as the cars were going at a snail’s pace. otherwise it would have been very dangerous

  5. July 12, 2008 10:39 am

    At least the one you saw was still alive. The ones here are hit so badly, you can hardly recognize if it was a dog or a cat. =/ Seriously, don’t people look when they drive? I see roadkills almost everyday on my way to work. It’s so sad. You did a wise thing Damien. 🙂

  6. Damien permalink*
    July 12, 2008 8:53 pm

    @bengbeng, that was my second pet rescue actually. The first one was rescuing 2 puppies from a storm drain a few months ago. Gave them a hot meal and they went straight to the spca.

    @dee, there seems to be an explosion of strays in KL. Every day I see at least 1 squished furball on the road. Bleh…

Leave a Reply

