Skip to content

TV shows I can’t live without

July 19, 2008

I have a routine when I get home after work. I can spend 2 hours watching recordings of my favorite shows every day. Here’s the countdown to the top six I can’t live without plus the people behind their voices.

6. Ben 10
Ben’s cool because he can morph into aliens and kick ass. Can’t say which alien form I like best cause I like all of them. Umm okay, maybe not Canonbolt – he’s too clumsy for my taste. And I seriously question the sanity of anyone who lives out of an RV (recreation vehicle) like Ben, Gwen and Max does even if it does look like fun. (Btw last month I bought an Omnitrix – the watch thingy that makes Ben go alien. Couldn’t find the Bandai Illuminator or Ultimate version so I had to settle for one that shoots pellets. It broke after a week. Dang.)

5. Jimmy Neutron
Jimmy’s the modern day equivalent of Dexter (from Dexter’s Lab) except Jimmy has no sister. Jimmy always gets into trouble with his scientific inventions and yet he’s clever enough to figure his way out. I kind of like fat Carl too because he reminds me of a classmate I used to have and, hee hee, pick on. My least favorite character is Jimmy’s mom because she’s a control freak.

4. Avatar, The Last Airbender
This show dropped a few notches for me for suffering a serious continuity issue, I think because of the screenwriter’s guild strike? It now hangs in the middle of Book Three, the Fire Nation, just when things are supposed to get really exciting. Still, it has one of the greatest storylines ever created for animation. My favorite characters have got to be Toph the Earth Bender and Sokka the Water Bender.

3. Fairly Odd Parents
I have to watch at least 2 episodes of FOP every day or I won’t feel complete. Every character in the show is brilliantly casted, from Timmy the main character to Mr. Crocker his teacher to Jorgen Von Strangle the fairy that sounds like Arnold Schwarzenegger. If you didn’t know, comedian Jay Leno stars as the resident hero the Crimson Chin. That’s how cool it is.

2. Teen Titans
This is a terrific show that I spend 2 hours watching every Saturday. Beastboy gets my vote as favorite character. He’s funny and a vegetarian because for every animal you care to name, he has morphed into it one time or another. The music by Puffy Ami Yumi’s great too.

And now for my most favorite show EVARR!!!!! Presentinnggg….

1. Spongebob Squarepants
I will never get tired of Spongebob. And Patrick, Squidward, Mr. Krabs and the Flying Dutchman. I grew up with them and still have a one-episode-a-day minimum. I’ve decided if I ever live under the sea, I will name my place Bikini Bottom. I’m quite proud of my comprehensive collection of Spongebob paraphernalia at home – got cushions, posters, blanket, pencil boxes, candy dispenser, backpack, pajamas, action figures and a full set of cool ring tones. I am contemplating painting one room in the house yellow and calling it my Bikini Bottom. Or maybe do it up like the Krusty Krab, I still haven’t decided.

So there you have it, the six TV shows I can’t live without. 🙂

p.s. I hear Naruto is coming to Nickelodeon. Its gonna be great!! 😛 😛 😛

Edit: Guess no one noticed two things. One, that Timmy Turner has an uncanny resemblance to Zach Tyler Eisen. Check out the signature teeth, pink hat, brown hair and goofy smile. Two, that women act as boys in cartoons. Secret alter ego? Haha.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. angeles permalink
    July 19, 2008 12:04 pm

    LOL.. u r kinda cute, big boy! 😛

  2. July 19, 2008 12:53 pm

    I notice most man still watch cartoon. I thought that is only for small boy. May be that’s a good way to relax, right?

  3. Damien permalink*
    July 20, 2008 12:36 am

    Hey guys, think of it this way. Since cartoons are created by grown ups and voice-acted by grown ups, they should rightly be seen by grown ups. Hahahahaha 🙂

  4. LC Teh permalink
    July 20, 2008 4:19 pm

    I can live without TV. I just hate those never-ending commercial interruptions.
    Just give me an internet connection.

  5. Damien permalink*
    July 21, 2008 8:22 am

    Ah, so you’re one of those who’s given up TV for the internet. I am doing a market study on that demographic at the moment. 🙂

  6. LC Teh permalink
    July 21, 2008 10:12 am

    2nd reason: I can decide who I want to believe in the news about the on-going political elbowing. TV gives too much credit to one side of the story and the personalities involved. I get latest updates without waiting for ‘censorship’ of the news.
    One good example: I was counting the number of seats won by opposition against the incumbents on 08-03-08, but when I turned around to see what’s going on TV, family members were still blissfully unaware of the ‘tsunami’…

    With so much high dramas & real life soap operas going on, I don’t need Hollywood for entertainment.

  7. Damien permalink*
    July 21, 2008 6:26 pm

    You must have heard the joke about the 3 sides to every story: yours, mine and the truth. TV is one side. Internet’s the other side. Still trying to figure out the 3rd side. Maybe its the uncle in the coffee shop?

  8. September 7, 2008 9:46 am

    Sponge Bob Square Pants..eh..yah, I like it too, funny in an innocent and idiotic kind of way…

    Me, I prefer Dexter..Boy Genius… 🙂

  9. Damien permalink*
    September 8, 2008 10:29 am

    An hour of Sponge action a day keeps the doctor away…. and I think Dexter has been taken over by Jimmy Neutron, also boy genius.

Leave a Reply

