Skip to content

Ex classmates

July 24, 2008

Its 2008. Do you know where your childhood friends and classmates are?

I keep in contact with a few myself. Just the other night I MSN’d with “Pottymouth” Steve, my ex roomie from college. He’s with the US Dept of Homeland Security now. When Steve first said he had joined the government I ROTFL’d but holy crap thats what he did!! He sounded happy. And I still want my CDs back. There are a few others. One’s a manager at Wal-Mart, one joined Microsoft, and another is striking it on his own just like me. Oh and there’s Debrah who’s taking her Phd at some university on the west coast.

This side of the world, I’ve got one who’s a junior pilot in SIA, one in ING, and one who’s lazing around ‘coz his father is rich. I’ve lost track of the rest.

Every once in a while, I’d get an IM or email from one of them who’d say, “Hey I bumped into so and so the other day. Remember him? The one you spilt soda on.” Then we would fill each other up with info, noting occupation, marital status, the company he keeps. Somehow knowing that is so important.

Its comforting to know that my comrades are doing well or are at least happy. But I know not all are doing well. I heard about layoffs, breakups and a friend Mary Jane who passed away in a car accident in 2001. Having spent my teens and early twenties together we’re almost like family. In fact, other than my own flesh and blood, they are the few I know I can count on when I’m in need.

4 Comments
  1. July 24, 2008 9:08 pm

    My oldest and longest friend I know since kindergarten and yes, we still see each other every now and then. Then there’s my primary school friends and high school (its a small town then so from there we all went to the same high school) no thanks to Facebook, I’ve manage to find loads of them. College friends whom I still see on a daily basis and others every few months or so.

  2. July 25, 2008 8:18 am

    yup, those classmates and coursemates are the real friends we have, arent they? of course in the working world we find friends in colleagues, but sometiems they aren’t just quite the same..

  3. Damien permalink*
    July 25, 2008 8:52 am

    @dee, lucky for u your friends are nearby. Mine’s scattered all over the world. Thank god for the internet.

    @cbenc12, maybe the bond of childhood friends is more intense and memorable, thanks to discovery and getting into trouble together.

  4. July 25, 2008 9:01 am

    Oh trust me, although I still have some friends around, most of them are scattered too.

Comments are closed.

