Skip to content

The passenger in Row 12

August 5, 2008

Finally home and knocked out for 11 hours. These flights seem to take forever.

My ears are still ringing… not from cabin pressure but from a conversation I overheard from 2 guys sitting one row away from me, en-route from SFO. And I quote:

“She’s an accountant. About 40 years old. Single. Wouldn’t stop complaining. She’s from Penang. My worst client ever.”

– Passenger in row 12.

Ooookayy. Female. Middle aged. Single. Penang. Monster. See the connection?

K, now replace Penang with Singapore and there you have it. A story no one can disagree on. Bwahahahahaha… Kidding.

The trip was ok. Mission accomplished. Not much has changed in the city of Mountain View, CA. Kapp’s is still standing and still serving my favorite pizza. Same neighbor the Larsons, same dog in the yard. The pooch didn’t recognize me at first. Happy that my cousin hadn’t wrecked my car or done anything illegal with it, I think. Right now I’m just glad to be home. The bed’s calling me again. Out.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. angeles permalink
    August 6, 2008 1:48 am

    welcome home!

    *whispers*
    I think it’s because she’s not having any bedroom activities.. :mrgreen:

  2. Damien permalink*
    August 6, 2008 8:34 am

    Oh you mean vacuuming and mopping the floor? (*evil grin*)

  3. August 6, 2008 3:23 pm

    It’s bad enough this woman is 40 and single. She’s gotta be an accountant? I wish all the luck in the world to her ‘future husband’….if she finds one. ;P

    *knocks on wood 3x before karma bites me back in the a$$* tee hee. 😀

  4. Damien permalink*
    August 7, 2008 7:38 am

    I dunno but overly calculative people aren’t the hottest thing in social circles. What I don’t get is, why Penang? Is there something about that place I don’t know about.

  5. LC Teh permalink
    August 7, 2008 1:52 pm

    I often get the impression from KL people that Penang people are pretty calculative and kedekut. That being so because Penang’s cost of living is high but salaries are much lower than in KL. So in order to keep their noses above water they have to be kedekut. I know because I was from there. I moved to where the cost is lower.

  6. Damien permalink*
    August 7, 2008 9:05 pm

    Another debate on Penangites seems to be heating up in blogosphere. Happens everywhere. Even in the US, if you’re from Kansas or West Virginia people tend to make certain assumptions about you.

Leave a Reply

