Skip to content

I hate credit cards

August 19, 2008

Wait let me rephrase that. I hate people who make other people’s lives miserable when they use their credit cards.

Like this lady at the pharmacy yesterday who held everyone up just to buy a few toiletries. First the card zapper thingy died. Then it ran out of printing paper. Then a declined card. Taking her sweet time she tried one card after another before the 3rd one got through. She drags us all through this why? To collect points she’ll redeem a year later for some cheap trinket that she’ll toss away after a few months?

But its convenience you’ll say. No need to bring cash around. Wow, ya think? Call me silly but which part of putting yourself legally into debt over a tube of facial wash convenient? Isn’t mindless debt totally avoidable if you’d planned your spending and brought along some cash? Phobia of bringing cash? Tell me honestly, how many people do you know actually escaped being robbed because the robber “knew” they were carrying a credit card and no cash? And how many people do you know got robbed on the way to the supermarket that you’re going?

Or how about the expense consolidation excuse – lets put everything on the card so we can keep track of how much we spend on household items, entertainment, etc. Great line. Now watch how these people go apeshit after seeing last month’s entertainment bill and then go right ahead and do it again this month. And the next. Since when has card statements ever changed anyone’s lifestyle?

But I’m missing the real point aren’t I? The point of not having to burn a few calories walking to the ATM for some cash. And the point that credit cards free you from ever having to do that dreaded thing called thinking and planning. Buy first, think later. You like that don’t you.

Unless the alternative is worse, I’ll abandon a checkout lane the moment I see people holding their credit cards to pay. If no other cashier is available I’ll simply put down the goods and walk out. Got better things to do with my life than wait for people to earn their measly points at the expense of my time.

Call me silly but I don’t see glamor in taking out a bank loan everytime I need to have dinner or fill up with gasoline. I don’t see what’s so convenient about having a $2,000 amount-due statement staring at me at the end of the month and have absolutely no recollection of where that money went. Or if I did remember, having to pay for something whose enjoyment is long gone.

Do I have cards at all? Yes, got 4 of ’em, all zero balance. I reserve them for 2 occasions. One, when I’m stuck in some foreign airport on transit without any local currency. Two, when they need to swipe a card at a hotel or car rental for ID purposes. Even then I settle with cash when I check out. Other than that my cards won’t see light of day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. LC Teh permalink
    August 19, 2008 11:04 am

    I don’t know what’s the difference, but I noticed in the US (and even Mexico), almost everybody uses credit cards (even for buying a few toothbrushes) and there’s never any delay waiting for the transaction. Why is that such a hassle this side of the globe?

  2. PandanKia permalink
    August 19, 2008 1:41 pm

    selfishness of the writer is the cause of misery.
    Just imagine he being scoffed at when he tries to pay with his card!
    This is a typical mentality of a loser in a third world country. everything is ME ME ME! and no care at all is given to other people. machine breaking down, paper running out is no fault of the card user, go screw the supermarket instead! moron!

  3. Damien permalink*
    August 19, 2008 5:09 pm

    @LC, in the US I use checks for anything above $100. Just present the check with ID and the cashier takes only a few secs longer than cash. I’m not sure why getting approval codes take so long here. Could be the slow network.

    @Pandankia, its precisely becoz I don’t use credit cards that I have no misery, hahahaha 🙂

  4. August 20, 2008 9:47 am

    credit cards are ebil I tell you EBIL!

  5. Damien permalink*
    August 20, 2008 9:25 pm

    This might sound funny but the 1st transaction I ever used my first credit card for was to pry open my dorm door. I’d locked myself out. I still remember the look on the BA guy’s face when I gave him an L-shaped card, lolz 🙂

Leave a Reply

