Skip to content

Do USB notebook cooler fans work?

August 21, 2008

I actually bought one (not coolpad but similar) to solve this problem. After using it for a month, I felt I had wasted my money. Yes, it did cool down my notebook chassis a wee bit but not nearly enough to stop the internal notebook fan from spinning, which was my ultimate objective.

Maybe I should’ve used my head before I bought the darn thing. An overheating CPU is the source of the heat. The motherboard it sits on is suspended inside the notebook chassis by some mounting screws. The gap between motherboard and chassis internal surface is where the superheated air circulates. The on-board fan is supposed to blow it out thru a tiny vent, and that’s the stuff the USB fan needs to suck out for any real cooling to happen. But unless I cut a gaping hole in my notebook chassis, there’s no way it’ll ever do that. So all it ends up doing is cool the external chassis surface – if it can even manage that, considering the hot circulating plasma inside the chassis is left untouched. Lame.

End result: I now have 4 whirring fans going at any time instead of just 1. My CPU is as hot as ever and my setup now is 4 times as noisy. Damn.

Does anyone out there actually have a USB fan that works? By that I mean it makes your notebook so cool the internal fan actually stops spinning?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 11:40 am

    Build your own one šŸ˜€ Coller helps a little teeny tiny bit only, so build your own with some huge fan instead..

  2. Damien permalink*
    August 21, 2008 10:43 pm

    Hi wong, I would gladly build my own if I knew how. Any tips?

  3. August 22, 2008 9:37 pm

    hi, my usb fan is actually to fan me, not to fan the notebook..hehe..it’s quite ok la, just a little buzzy sounds.. =)

  4. Damien permalink*
    August 23, 2008 9:23 am

    Oh, a fan to cool you down not your cpu. hahaha šŸ™‚

  5. October 14, 2008 2:47 am

    I thought all you need to do is stick those cool balls onto the base of your laptop to elevate it so that there is space between the base and the table? Do you really need those cooler fans?

    That helps leave more air space between the pc and the table surface but the air may remain stagnant, like a stuffy room. A fan will blow away the heat.

Leave a Reply

