Skip to content

Don’t they have to go to work?

August 27, 2008

What’s their secret? Who are these people who mingle around at shopping malls on workdays while the rest of us slog away like mad?

Yesterday I was at the shopping mall for a meeting. Some people like to hold their meetings in offices or hotel lobbies. I like having them at shopping malls, usually in a quiet corner of Starbucks or whatever cafe I can find.

So after the chit chat was over and my associates had left, I sat there trying to finish some work on my notebook. Outside the cafe, lots of people were walking by and I mean lots. Many more than what I’d expect at 3pm on a workday. Wtf, don’t these people have to go to work or something?

They were carrying shopping bags, pushing baby strollers, browsing the stores, and obviously not out on a business meeting like I was. Many of them looked below 40 and trendy. And its not just females.

How do these people find the money to buy all those things they’re carrying? What jobs do they do? What business do they run? Are they all alpha bloggers raking in big checks? If you know the secret, tell me ’cause I’d like to have a piece of the action too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2008 9:43 am

    You know, I wonder the same too!
    Since I work pretty flexi hours, I sometimes get to go to the malls early if I need to get somethings. And like you, I see many people who make me envious. Not the kids, I’m not surprised if they are supposed to be at tuition or school, but the adults…damn lepak, massive shopping, lounging around at cafes..and none of them are dressed in office attire that suggest some kinda work…
    Sigh.

  2. August 27, 2008 2:05 pm

    Hey I feel you, man. I had the same questions in mind too. Maybe they are all internet millionnaires.. want to team up and do a little interview on them ?

  3. August 27, 2008 5:12 pm

    I have the same thought too. Must be some happily married and live happily ever after housewives:P

  4. Damien permalink*
    August 28, 2008 8:02 am

    I can only think of a couple of possibilities. They’re on leave from work. Or they’re unemployed but spending somebody’s money – dad’s, mom’s, husband’s, wife’s or water fish’s. Some of them might be living off their investments but I think that’s a minority.

Leave a Reply

