Skip to content

No debt no stress

September 1, 2008

I buy everything in cash. You can tell I don’t own many things.

I eat light. I haven’t seen a doctor in almost a year.

I pay my bills and taxes. I have one of the loneliest mailboxes in my neighborhood (no billing reminders).

I avoid socialite groupings that have a “leader”. Groupies = conformity = peer pressure.

I drive a Japanese car. Got no bad surprises.

I choose to live in a neighborhood where people look like they respect peace and privacy. I rather be a few bucks poorer than deal with neighbors from hell after a long day.

I live near the place I work. No traffic jams.

I rent my home. If my current neighborhood goes to the dogs or if the office needs to be relocated, I just pack up and move.

I chose my job carefully when I was an employee. I only accept an offer when I’m satisfied that I’m not stepping into a mental asylum.

I define expectations in writing with my clients. It keeps everyone focused and happy.

I have a hobby: martial arts. Something to focus my mind on. And its free.

I watch my language. I notice that foul language attracts strange people who want you to do strange things.

I am a minimalist in the office and at home. There’s hardly anything to break, maintain or throw away.

I stay in touch with my parents once a week so I don’t have to worry about their condition.

I give regularly to charity. Giving breaks the selfish (=stress) cycle.

I watch cartoons every day. They’re funny as hell.

That’s my teflon solution to stress, he he.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2008 9:46 am

    Great philosophy. I think the general thrust is detachment, yes. By being detached, it keeps the mind light and happy. Not many people can do it, though. I salute you!

    Hehe…enjoy the last day of the long weekend πŸ™‚

  2. September 1, 2008 9:52 am

    BTW: Is your martial art related to the Dao De Ching? πŸ™‚

  3. September 1, 2008 11:20 am

    That’s a great way to live! No debt, no stress. Keep things simple, life is much more fun. I like the part about Japanese cars. Very true no surprises unlike local cars! No stress = better health = less visits to doctor = save money = happiness.

  4. Damien permalink*
    September 1, 2008 1:28 pm

    @avatar, after understanding the consequences of attachment is not really that hard to choose non-attachment. Yes most Chinese martial arts have their roots in the Tao Te Ching. I was a student of Wing Chun. I wrote a little about it in my other blog.

    @foong, when it comes to stress I believe prevention is better than cure. Rather than think of ways to solve a problem, I’ve learnt that its better to conduct myself so the problem doesn’t even arise in the first place. Its something I leanrt from martial arts.

  5. September 2, 2008 9:53 am

    I’m so so envious of the choices you have…

  6. Damien permalink*
    September 2, 2008 9:33 pm

    Every choice has its price and no, it hasn’t quite solved everything yet πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

