Skip to content

Is Google playing tricks?

September 3, 2008

Okay, so a number of you blogged about Google’s new browser. So I followed the download link people had been putting in their blogs and got this.


Notice the absence of a download button. You can only click on “Learn more.” So I clicked that and got this.

Still no download button, except for the one on the left vertical bar. So I clicked that and got this.

Very funny Mr. Google.

Whatever I did, I came back to square one. So I signed up with an e-mail address thinking they wanted that in exchange for the real download link.

Nope. Nyet. Nada. Just some words to say they’ll inform me if there any any changes.

Suffice to say I’m completely unimpressed that a company like Google would provide a “Download” link that does anything but download. Blegh.

That means their “new” browser gets 0 stars out of 5 from me. For now.

Edit: I think Google only provides the Windows version for download for this Beta, something the blogs I read forgot to mention. Still, as it knows I’m on Linux, why would Google still provide a fake Download link on page 2, one that cycles back to the main page? And since I still can’t get my hands on the browser, I can’t review it so it still gets 0 out of 5 from me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ahkiong permalink
    September 3, 2008 12:50 pm

    try to hold ctrl and click on refresh button on ur browser then it gonna work. Maybe its the cache file

  2. September 3, 2008 1:14 pm

    I tried it on Windows. Not working at all. Keep on crashing.
    It’s a piece of shit. Period.

  3. Joe permalink
    September 3, 2008 1:18 pm

    You can rate the download process 0 out of 5 stars.. but technically you can’t rate the actual browser if you haven’t tried it?

  4. Damien permalink*
    September 3, 2008 1:39 pm

    @ahkiong, I tried that, including clearing the cache and cookies but it didn’t work. Maybe it doesn’t like Firefox 3?

    @costa, thanks for the link. Got to the actual download pane. Now we’re getting somewhere. I clicked on Accept and Install and nope, nothing happened. Maybe it senses I’m not on Windows?

    @@ak, you’re waay ahead of me. 🙂

    @joe, think of it this way. At the shooting range, if I don’t get the gun, the shooting won’t happen and the scoreboard stays at “0”. I’m just reporting the scoreboard.

  5. September 3, 2008 1:44 pm

    Google has a high tendency of doing A/B testing on their products. So you might be looking at a different homepage compared to others. When I landed on the page, I saw the Download button immediately.

    I’m right now using Google Chrome fine and will be testing it whole day today. Then, will publish my findings on my blog later. 🙂

  6. Damien permalink*
    September 4, 2008 8:08 am

    Danny is your OS Linux?

Leave a Reply

