Skip to content

My idea of living simple

September 6, 2008

I mentioned previously that I am a minimalist. It means I can pack up my stuff and move out of my condo in an hour, literally.

I’m not tied down by long leases, sales & purchase agreements, appreciation and depreciation, and a compulsion to have ‘roots’ in the ground. There are pros and cons to this obviously but in my situation, I need the mobility. I keep having to tell my mom I can’t fly like a bird when I’ve got baggage and stuff coming out of my ears. (yup she still can’t understand me, he he).

This is my idea of simple living.


And that’s how my place looks like, minus the shoji screen. Except when I use my notebook, I sit on the floor, even when I’m digging into my instant noodles and watching TV. πŸ™‚ .

My bedroom’s got nothing too.

The bed’s foldable and except for a little table for some candles, the room’s empty like this one so I can do my martial arts exercise when I want.

So now you can see why my mom screams when she comes to visit me. :mrgreen: .

One of the reasons why I like the traditional Japanese setting is because while the Japanese are complex thinkers, they have a simple approach to life. Remember your friends who keep telling you to keep it simple, why make life so complicated, bla bla bla? Do you really want to know how simple they are? Drop by their house. You’ll know the real story.

There are other advantages to simple living. Its cheap (my coffee table-$250, the dining table came with the condo, cushions-$60, straw mats were free). There’s no clutter. There’s nothing to go out of fashion. Everything’s functional. Even the burglars wouldn’t waste their time.

That’s how I live. So how do you live?

Pic Sources: A, B.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2008 1:44 pm

    Wow…that’s how I would like to live…unfortunately for me, I’ve gots tonnes of books…sigh and other stuff which I don’t need but can’t bear to throw out…talk about attachments πŸ™‚

  2. LC Teh permalink
    September 6, 2008 3:42 pm

    I keep it simple by living within my means.
    I can’t sit on the floor and eat. It gives me indigestion. Perhaps, it’s the way my body is constructed. Same goes for some members of my family. Therefore I can’t sit in a lotus position for meditation. I need to own some sofas. (Can’t afford to have my mom screaming. She’s more than 80.) hahaha…

  3. September 6, 2008 6:56 pm

    I’m still living with the parents hence I don’t have space for my own things except my room. It looks a little cluttered, because I got a big closet and a queen size bed. So that basically takes up most of the space.

    My idea of my future place? Spanish style house with minimal furniture. πŸ™‚

  4. Damien permalink*
    September 7, 2008 8:43 am

    @avatar, I donated my books a long time ago, hehe.

    @lc, about the only thing I miss is a nice comfortable sofa which makes me lazy. But even if I had one, I won’t be able to use it much cuz I’m hardly home.

    @dee, the Spanish villas in California tend to be sprawling, big enough to rear cattle πŸ™‚

  5. September 15, 2008 6:07 pm

    I wouldn’t mind a place like that. And in the weekends, just a lay a futon on the floor to enjoy nature’s sounds and peacefulness.

    Hopefully, it’s beside the highway. ROFL! πŸ˜›

  6. Damien permalink*
    September 15, 2008 10:26 pm

    If you like the highway, then you’d love living next to the airport runway, LOL.

Trackbacks

  1. Real winners don’t think. Only losers do. « Damien Tan

Leave a Reply

