Skip to content

Stop worrying

September 24, 2008

Have you ever been in a situation where your worries rob you of your sleep?

I think worry serves a purpose. It reminds us to reflect back on what we’ve done to get into this mess and what to avoid in the future.

So contrary to the saying “Live Your Life So That You Will Have No Regrets”, I say there is an important purpose to regret. I regret having poked my finger into the candle flame and like hell will I do that again. Regret helps me live another day. The challenge is to have fewer of them as I progress in life because I would have learnt something.

I come into contact with chronic worriers every day. People who worry sick about things much bigger than they are – like the economy. I’d ask them, does all your worrying have any effect on Freddie Mac and Fannie Mae? (That’s the two big factors that’s creating financial havoc in the US and subsequently Asia.) Nope. Not a chance.

When two galaxies collide, there ain’t a whole lot you and I can do about it. If you worry, it won’t change. If you don’t worry, it also won’t change. So why worry. Learn to let go. 🙂

As I said, what’s more useful is to reflect on what drew you into this mess in first place. This financial nightmare was a choice you made wasn’t it. A choice to invest in an unwise portfolio that’s causing you these sleepless nights. Now you’re paying for that poor choice.

So if you’re not in a position to change the outcome of something, learn to flick the worry switch off. Let go. Otherwise you’re just wasting your emotions for nothing and while busy achieving nothing, end up upsetting a whole lot of people in the process.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2008 9:56 am

    Wise advice indeed. Easy to understand, hard to apply.

    Yup. Some people spend a few seconds to commit and a lifetime learning how to let go. 🙂

  2. angeles permalink
    September 24, 2008 10:12 am

    yeah! easier said than done!

    but, i’m learning.. learning.. awareness, aye?

    You need to do a Nike. Just do it. Hehe. 🙂

  3. September 24, 2008 10:52 am

    mmm i find it not that difficult. why worry about things u canot fix. it’s human nature to get worried over things …. but don let the worries stick with u for too long because life still goes on.

    i rather spend time on how to adapt to the situation or how to create opportunities from the mess.

    Yeah, that’s what I do too. 🙂

  4. LC Teh permalink
    September 24, 2008 3:21 pm

    Years ago I turned up at a gathering of some old classmates. After a few drinks, someone looked at my receding hairline and asked me what happened. I said I worried too much. I had a hard life. Then I laughed, and everybody joined in. Yeah I was losing my hair which was once my crowning glory, curls and all.

    You worry, and you regret some things you do. But when you realised you’ve done the best you could, you just stop there and look towards the future. And pray that whatever you’ve got in hand, works for you.

    Otherwise take a piece of advice from Bobby Mcferrin

    You’re lucky its only a little bit of hair that you’ve lost. There must be some truth about happiness in letting go…. which usually happens after you realised you’ve done the best you could.

  5. September 24, 2008 8:32 pm

    I’m reminded of this saying : Worrying is like a rocking chair, it gets you nowhere…

    Heh, they ought to have a worry-management class someday…wait I think they do!

    There is a famous antidote to worry – let go. Trouble is, the more attached one is to something, the harder it is to let go. 🙂

  6. LC Teh permalink
    October 7, 2008 3:25 pm

    If anyone’s interested, Dale Carnegie has an answer on how to handle worries.

    Whoa what a gem of a find, thanks! Now I’ve got something worthwhile to read over the weekend. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Stop Worry | Good Thoughts, Good Words, Good Deeds

Leave a Reply

