Skip to content

The day I wandered into a gay club

October 11, 2008

In winter a couple of years ago I spent a week in Miami where my brother stayed before he moved up to Boston. One thing about Miami, its not all glitz and glamor that you see in CSI Miami, even in Dade County where I stayed and where the CSI series is supposedly set. But the beaches in real life are fantastic. So are the restaurants.

A place I really like is South Beach so the day before I was to leave Miami, I had my brother drop me off late afternoon so I could bum around with my iPod, park myself by the beach and play with my Nintendo. The colleges were on winter break so there were tons of people walking about. Night came, I tried out a Jewish cafe and walked about the streets drinking up the atmosphere.

So I came across this place that had a lot of people milling about inside and outside. I didn’t pay much attention to the way people dressed or behaved as I was attracted by something a lot more interesting – a laser show that was going on inside. So I walked in, got myself a fruit punch and stood there amidst the throbbing music, together with hundreds of people watching this really cool laser and light show. Its amazing how it could paint 3-dimensional objects in mid air.

When the show was over, the music changed and everyone started to dance. Some guy tapped me on the shoulder, introduced himself at the top of his voice and yelled, “Wanna dance?”

Suddenly everything froze and in a split second, I realized that a) there were no girls around, b) I was standing on the dance floor, c) a number of guys were hugging. I said no politely. Curiosity got the better of me so I decided to stick around just to see what it was all about. A couple of fruit punches later I came to the conclusion that its no different than any dance club except this one catered to only one sex.

So I left and took a cab home. The night’s takings was a phone number from the guy who asked me to dance and an offer by another guy to drive me home which I declined. I was curious but not that curious.

My brother ROTFL’d when I told him. If you ask me, I had no feeling of panic or revulsion, only curiosity about an unfamiliar subculture. Frankly when it comes to sexual orientation, I never understood what all the fuss was about but that laser light show, now that was a big deal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LC Teh permalink
    October 11, 2008 12:45 pm

    Yeah, I suppose that’s the right way to go. We’re not familiar enough to understand, no right to judge them. So the best thing is being neutral and let them be. After all, they’re humans too.

    When you spend years in the San Francisco area, you tend to get desensitized to these things. Having a cousin who’s gone ‘alternative’ also helps with acceptance. 🙂

  2. October 13, 2008 10:39 am

    Mm nothing wrong with that. Just try to be open minded i guess. For Asians, it’s bit hard for us to accept those people….but well, maybe that’s why a lot of Asians tend to hide those ‘behavior’ ?

    To me, i feel weird…but i won’t discriminate them.

    And i’ll definitely observe my surroundings before deciding to stay or to go to other places 😛

Leave a Reply

