Skip to content

Powerpuff Girls Z

November 18, 2008

powerpuffz

I nearly fainted when I watched the Powerpuff Girls Z last night. Jeez, what have they done to the original PPG? My eyes saw 3 girls in PPG colors but my mind kept saying Sailor Moon. Grrr… what a mind job.

I like the girls just the way they were – fingerless and stubby. So I had to console my mind by telling it this is the PPG of another universe. The Japanese-speaking one.  Maybe I’ll grow to like it, I dunno, but for now, these are a few things that, urgh, jarred my nerves:

Tranformation. Why does it take forever for the girls to transform to their superpowered version. So “gwa cheong”. Bleh.

The weapons. What’s with the stupid yo-yo (Blossom), that huge needle-like thing (Bubbles), and the plastic hammer (BUttercup)? Dude, whatever happened to the laser eyes, ice breath and the other superpowers they used to have?

Professor Utonium. He’s got a son? Yeeks, and what’s with the robot puppy? And most importantly, he’s not the PPG’s dad?

Mojo Jojo. Man, he’s real dumb in this version. Not the witty monkey I used to know, sobs. And that voice – is that Kaz, Hi Hi Puffy Ami Yumi’s greedy manager?

Ms. Keen. Instead of the slim teacher of Pokey Oaks, we now have a fat teacher? Or am I mistaken?

Mayor. If he was trying to play the original clueless Mr. Dumbass, he failed. In this version he seemed less clueless, less idiotic, less fun. His eyes are always open in this version while they were always closed in the original version.

Ms Bellum: Okay they still got her face conveniently covered so all I can say is, her hair looks different. And she’s not wearing a red dress like she used to.

The Girls: What can I say. Different hairstyles, different clothes, different personas. Maybe they grew up. How could they. Thank goodness Buttercup’s still the recognizable tomboy. She has always been my favorite.

I’m still trying to get over the transformation of Chemical X to Chemical Z, all because of a stupid cookie that Prof’s puppy tossed into the vat of ChemX by accident. Super Lame. So in this universe, the Girls were not created from sugar, spice and everything nice. They were created from a Japanese cookie.

Holy crap. Why am I watching this show.

Can’t wait for the next episode.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2008 9:27 am

    o_O u r a fan of ppg? they look more like anime characters to me now.

    Yeah, its one of my favorites. I must have my dose of 1-2 hrs of cartoons every day. 😀

  2. Vanessa permalink
    November 18, 2008 10:54 am

    Whoa when did this happen? Bubbles looks so cute!! Bubbles is my favorite so yeah. I like the old one better thought. PPGandRRB forever

    Cartoon Network Asia just started airing episodes this week. It’ll be interesting to see what RRB-Z looks like. 🙂

  3. Punk permalink
    November 18, 2008 10:54 am

    thank god I am not the only grown up man watching PPG

    Cartoons are made by grownups for grownups, hehe. Trust me, you don’t wanna see a cartoon made by a 7 year old. 🙂

  4. November 18, 2008 11:18 am

    But that’s the point, PPGZ is the anime version of the American PPG.

    Actually I quite like both of them in their own ways. We just have to remember that American cartoons and Japanese anime are two completely different universes.

    PPGZ is Loli-fan service at it’s highest.

    Its scary but I’m sure I’ll soon learn to accept this teen version of the Girls. I still don’t like that plastic hammer though. 🙂

  5. November 18, 2008 1:45 pm

    So it wasn’t the real PPG? like dragon ball and dragon ball z?

    All I know is their powers are different. Lets see what the other episodes will reveal.

  6. November 20, 2008 9:46 am

    My… what have they done to the PPG? Sigh… it looks like the trend is to recycle old ideas and re-imagine them…

    Grrr….

    And I’m still waiting for Spongebob Squarepants Z….

  7. November 20, 2008 5:04 pm

    Sponge Bob ain’t sexy enough…. 🙂

    Yeah, and neither is Patrick….

  8. cuteyfluff permalink
    May 6, 2009 10:08 am

    I heard u can watch ppgz full ep on youtube and its a riceball not a cookie

    Haha, seriously? Thanks for telling me.

Leave a Reply

