Skip to content

Whats your idea of a holiday?

December 15, 2008

Its that time of year when people take time off for their vacations. You know, time to relax and recharge yourself

The problem is, many of my friends don’t come back recharged and relaxed. They come back cranky and I think I know why.

I’ve done it before. A 1-week “rest and relax” getaway to London that turned into a marathon stretching from London to Edinburgh. We had new restaurants to try out every mealtime, places to see, friends to catch up with, parties to crash, shopping at Harrods and all those other places I had been hearing about, etc. etc.

It wasn’t a vacation. Its a mad dash from one thing to another and by day #6, I was so completely knocked out I couldn’t remember half the people I met.

So now whenever people say they’re going off on a holiday, I smile and say good luck. But as long as they had fun its not a total loss I guess.

Christmas is coming up and this Saturday I’ll be heading off to a place with a foot of snow and freezing temperatures. Maybe I’ll run into Santa there. πŸ™‚ And this time I’m determined to not get into another mad dash.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2008 9:49 am

    1 week from London to Edinburgh? That’s really quite a rush. In London alone, you will need like 2-3 days in order to enjoy the city. Bet you’ve missed out on places like Windsor since it’s outside London.

    Yeah, I missed out a lot of things including Amsterdam which was high on my list. I’ll be sure to take at least 2 weeks off for my next European holiday.

  2. December 15, 2008 9:54 am

    Tha’ts why it’s always best to go to a place where no one knows you! So you don’t have to rush from one place to another, and take your time. Do whatever you want to do and go wherever you want to go at your own time. =)

    Hey Dee, nice to “see” you again πŸ™‚ Yeah that helps, as well as not being overly ambitious about your itinerary simply because you’re so excited to see so many things.

  3. LC Teh permalink
    December 15, 2008 12:01 pm

    Everytime you take a 7 day tour add 2 more days to your leave plan. You need to recover. A holiday from your holiday.

    Once, an expat colleague at lunch asked me where I’d be going during the coming holidays. I said I can’t understand why people work hard to earn the money to put up home theatres, hi-fi systems etc, but are never home early enough to enjoy them during their workdays. Then at the next stretch of holidays, they pack up and go off somewhere else instead of staying home to enjoy what they’ve paid for.

    That colleague never sat at the same table with me again for lunch.

    Ah, that classic difference between engineering and management. (Dilbert alert, hehe)

Leave a Reply

