Skip to content

The world is small

January 6, 2009

I spent 5 days holed up in a cabin at Big Bear lake over the Christmas break, surrounded by tall pine trees.

The temperature was about -1 degree celsius, just the way I like it. Made my own little snowman. No wolf or bear came to my doorstep this time around. πŸ™‚

I did nothing much except read and walk through the woods during the day, and sit by the fire and read some more at night (not a good idea to walk in the woods alone at night). But there’s something uplifting about sitting on a snow-covered ledge under the open sky, letting the stars light up the white blanketed surroundings on christmas eve. Nope, there was no Santa, only the sound of wind and rustling leaves.

I recommend this type of solitary confinement to anyone who needs to detoxify from the madness of city living. In fact I was sorry when my 5 days were up.

I caught up with some friends from the neighborhood, a couple of whom had lost their jobs in the downturn. There’s still a semblance of normality in city of Mountain View where Silicon Valley is situated but elsewhere in the Bay Area surrounding San Francisco, things aren’t looking good. Not that bad but not that good either, and everyone says its gona get worse. I hear Google and Microsoft is laying off people. There’s definitely lots more “For Sale” signs in the neighborhood than the last time I came.

My brother wouldn’t let me go off without visiting him in Boston so I extended my stay to fly over for a few days. It was blistering cold. Its times like this when he regrets having moved from Miami but his job’s too important to him. He plans to get married before the end of the year. Looks like another trip coming up for me, this time probably with my parents.

The trip home was uneventful and I slept most of the way. I was too lazy to join the New Year’s eve revelry in Singapore so I ended up staying home watching TV and getting more sleep. Recovering from the jet lag which for some reason always hit me when I leave the US but not when I fly there.

Well, its now back to the grind in KL.

The one thing you realize when you travel as much as I do. The world ain’t as big as it looks. Literally.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 11:40 am

    The world is indeed pretty small πŸ™‚ esp if you get to meet some people you know halfway across the globe πŸ˜›

    Yeah that’s true πŸ™‚

  2. January 7, 2009 9:30 am

    I envy you, esp about ‘sitting on a snow-covered ledge under the open sky’…

    I forgot to add “… and freeze your butt” to the sentence. I actually get the same feeling of lightness when I sit on a beach in Asia in the dead of night.

  3. January 7, 2009 4:25 pm

    hahaha… I actually thought of that too, but I’d imagine at least a few layers of underwear or some insulation, otherwise you’d feel like you lost your butt before long.

    That’s easy to solve. Just take a stump of wood and sit on it πŸ™‚

  4. stella permalink
    January 9, 2009 7:30 pm

    Hallo damien. Welcome back. California seem to be a very nice place to stay especially what you have mention of the exciting hideout, the beautiful mountains, cool temperatual, snow, star at the open sky, near to nature & the awakening. Have you not considered settle in California? It used to be people dreams of going to AMERICA. I used to think that too but not now anymore. Malaysia is still a suitable place for me in terms of weather, language, food, people & culture though there are some restrictions in certain things & gov…..

    Anyway, people say everything is possible in America. That is really very true. For example there is an opened voting on ideas for change in America at http://www.Change.org/ideas whereby many people have submitted their ideas which is very interesting to read. I think you’ve mention this website in one of your post. Well, recently i have already signed in & voted for :

    1) Vegan school lunch options. Currently this ideas is at 16th place. Not enough vote yet to compete at the 10th place.
    2) Stop Animal torture. Ideas is at 22th place.
    3) Appoint Secretary of Peace in Department of Peace and Non-Violence. Ideas is at 10th place now.

    Do you know that the marijuana title Legalize the Medicinal and Recreational Use of Marijuana is at the first place among all the ideas. I really don’t understand.

    This is the final round & the opportunity will end on 1/15. I’ve already missed the first round voting which ended on 31th Dec. The top 10 rated ideas will be presented to the Obama administration for full considerations.
    Maybe you would like to vote for the well future of America. Anyhow its all up to you. Good Days!

    Hi Stella, thanks for your wishes. Actually I have settled down in Mountain View, California. Its near San Francisco. I’m back here for a few years to be with my parents. America is not having a great time at the moment due to the recession, as you’ve probably read about.

    You voted in change.org? Haha, that’s great. I’m not sure what I would vote for that isn’t already in the works but now that you mentioned it, I might just go take a look. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

