Skip to content

CNY Tales: Prosperity, prosperity

January 28, 2009

Like clockwork, its that time of year when we Chinese put “luck” and “prosperity” in front of everything.

I’ve lost count of how many dishes I ate this CNY that had the word “prosperity” in it somewhere. Prosperity burger, prosperity 8 treasures, prosperity duck.

My cousin is tying to talk me into going on a “prosperity package tour” to Batam.

The mall down the street has got “prosperity sale” plastered on its windows.

So I’ve done it all and rubbed the “P” word all over me. Funny, I still don’t feel prosperous.

I know. For full prosperity mode I have to wear my prosperity watch, my prosperity shirt and my prosperity underwear, after I eat my prosperity meal.

I shall do that today. πŸ˜€

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 8:31 am

    Be careful what you wish for. You might just get it…

    Wishing for prosperity has been in existence in our culture for quite a while. Some people simply take these things to the extremes. But it’s all business. It’s only once a year, but to me it seems to be coming a little too fast.

    They say if we say something often enough, it will come true. I’m trying to test that hypothesis now, hehe. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

