Skip to content

Blog aggregators are like Starbucks

February 10, 2009

Scanning thru the topics I find in blog aggregators like ping.sg and petalingstreet.org, I notice that most blog posts generally fall into one of these categories:

  • What I ate
  • What I bought
  • What I saw
  • Where I went
  • Whom I hung out / partied with
  • Some cool gadget I read about
  • Some photos I took
  • Something funny I found
  • How much money I made (or you can make)
  • What pissed me off

It occured to me that if I tried to visualize blog aggregators as a group of talking people, I’d find myself in an upscale cafe full of 20-somethings, where our minds are preoccupied with the latest fad and what pisses us off at work. Upscale because of the things you need to have to blog, like knowledge of technology, writing skills and yes, money to afford all the things and places we write about.

What moves and shakes bloggers? It might actually be interesting to do a trends analysis of blog aggregators, one that looks not at rankings but at broad trends in blogosphere thought. Mind-mapping ping.sg, for example, could yield some valuable pyschographic insights about a crowd that’s rising in influence.

The benefits of such an insight? Plenty, mostly revovling around foretelling the future.

Yeah I might just do that in my spare time, after I’m done with my daily episode of Spongebob. šŸ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 5:20 pm

    Unfortunately, my blog doesn’t fall into one of them. Not as often anyway. But I guess that’s what it’s like writing another niche then about about your life – which I miss. šŸ™‚

    You’re into the techno-business niche (as I am), serious stuff. Blog aggregators like ping.sg attract content that’s overwhelmingly lifestylish rather than the technology behind the lifestyle so tech gurus might feel out of place. But you’ve got a good blog, in a niche I hope is set to expand.

  2. February 10, 2009 5:25 pm

    That’s why RSS is a very useful tool since you can basically know what most people are talking about. Same for Twitter and other social networking sites. With Internet, the info you need might just be a step away from u.

    But don’t rely too much on such research data because, as we all know, most people online talk A but in real life, they do B. šŸ˜›

    Yep, the internet is a great place to live out your split personalities, haha. I do notice that blog aggregator content is rather easy to predict. On a launch day of a new movie for example, you’ll find a spike in references followed by a long tail, which sometimes spawn off sub-spikes. Big implications if you are harnessing social networking as a marketing force.

  3. February 10, 2009 8:47 pm

    When I started blogging in 2005, I was about the only ‘uncle’ around. My ‘audience’ happens to be my nephews, nieces and some of their friends. Now there are more ‘uncles’ around with a larger variety of subjects like birding, music, etc, and they’re even ranting about politics. I have been keeping a diary of my private thoughts for a long while anyway, and blogging just gives me an audience.

    That’s cool. Imagine how life would change if one could read their ancestor’s thoughts, as people would be able to generations from now. šŸ™‚

  4. LC Teh permalink
    February 11, 2009 10:27 am

    That brings to mind; how I wish I could find even a picture of my grandpa. He never had his photo taken. He left before I came along.

    Perhaps cameras weren’t so commonly available then. Come to think of it I don’t recall seeing any of my ancestors photos taken prior to the Japanese invasion of world war 2.

Trackbacks

  1. Are blogs herding? « Damien Tan

Leave a Reply

