Skip to content

Firefox Fail: The right-click bug

February 22, 2009

I like Firefox, when it works. But ever since I upgraded from Firefox 2 to Firefox 3, its been giving me a problem that’s getting worse and worse. By the way I’m running Firefox 3.0.6 on Ubuntu 8.10 operating system.

The problem is with the right-click. When I right-click on a blank page (or any page) in the browser, I’m supposed to get a Firefox menu. Instead, it’ll do any of the following: a) bookmark the page I’m at, b) save the page as whatever.html, c) do nothing, d) activate my e-mail client, e) activate any one of my dozen add-ons at random. It has become impossible to predict what it will do.

I notice this behavior happens about 8 out of 10 right-clicks I make.

From the chatter on the net, apparently I’m not the only one. The most infuriating thing is, Mozilla appears to be giving it the silent treatment. A few peope who *sounded* like they were from Mozilla were asking really silly questions in the forums like what add-ons do you have, what version are you running, how often does it happen, etc. Gad,  all the buzz on the net and you’re still clueless? You mean me not a single soul in the entire Mozilla developer community is using Ubuntu?

Its definitely a Firefox problem, not a Ubuntu one (I’m reliably told its not due to Compiz). The latest FF version upgrade (3.0.6) didn’t fix it either, to my disappointment.

I did find a workaround, thanks to one the threads at Ubuntu. If you’re facing this problem, I recommend you that install the Mouse Gestures Redox add-on. For some strange reason, the problem goes away after that. It worked for me.

Wake up, Mozilla, wake up.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2009 12:44 pm

    My Firefox 3 crashes more often than my Firefox 2. Sometimes, it ends up in a state which it cannot start up at all (it crashes within first 5 seconds of starting it up).

    But…well, it’s still far better than IE 😀

    Yeah, go around the forums and you’ll see that a few hardcores have sworn to stick with FF2 until FF3 stabilizes.

  2. Livráno permalink
    April 1, 2009 4:14 am

    Nice work!
    Installing mouse gestures appears to have fixed it for me – thanks very much!

    You’re welcome dude. 🙂

  3. yeroc3103 permalink
    April 7, 2009 1:47 pm

    I have experienced this bug too. I have also had a move severe one. Sometimes Firefox just likes to be extremely slow, like dial-up slow. It is very annoying and I have to restart to computer to fix the issue.

    I’ve not had that problem with Firefox 3. It sounds like the really bad memory leaks I used to have at one time.

  4. April 15, 2009 11:50 pm

    I have been having this problem for a while now – exactly as you describe. On my old slow computer it’s especially annoying because when it randomly opens Evolution/bookmarks the site/saves the page as html it takes ages!

    Clicking away from any links on a blank part of the page temporarily solve it but only for a few more right clicks then you’re back to the same random annoyingness.

    Just installing Redox now. I really hope it works!!!!!!
    Cheers for the advice,
    James.
    jameswestwood.me

    I hope it works for you too. 🙂

  5. August 28, 2009 7:12 am

    My wife’s laptop developed this problem after a recent Firefox upgrade. Even though the Yahoo toolbar was not active, it WAS in her extensions. After disabling it and restarting Firefox, the problem was gone. Hope this helps some other people having the same issue.

  6. ahki permalink
    September 12, 2009 9:22 pm

    Hi,

    When I right click an image, save image as, click save, the “save image” window locks up / freezes. I have to use taskmanager to kill it, to get out of firefox. I loaded firefox 3.5.3 a few days. I was having adobe flash issues before that, when playing yoville, uninstalled and reinstall flash, which seems to have worked, then firefox 3.5.3 started running slow. I went to firefox safe mode, to see if it was one of my add0n that was slowing firefox down. Now, I have the above right click issue. I started Explorer to see I could save an image there, and it did work as normal, save image to my image files. I when to control panel and uninstalled firefox 3.5.3, then reinstalled it, with no luck in being able to click save without firefox/xpwin locking up / freezing….aaaah I’m a sad boy :O(

    Here is the page with the image I was trying to “save as”. I went to other places to try saving, but still locked up / froze.

    (Any ideas will be truly appreciated).

    ahki

    I haven’t got that problem before and am not sure if I can reproduce that error on a firefox/linux combo. I am in windowless environment unfortunately. You can google up the problem and if anyone else has the same issue, there’s usually a workaround mentioned.

  7. ahki permalink
    September 12, 2009 9:27 pm

    I forgot to add the image link I was having an issue will, sorry
    “Don’t laugh at me…it’s a ship size comparison chart.” :O)

    Here’s the image link: http://users.bigpond.net.au/dax/alien.jpg
    (But, I don’t think it has anything to do with the save as issue I am having, but a firefox issue, since I am able to save image to file with Internet Explorer).

    ahki

    That’s strange, I was able to save that image on firefox/linux with no problems. I suggest you post that bug on a firefox forum and see what comes back.

Trackbacks

  1. Firefox » Firefox Fail: The right-click bug

Leave a Reply

