Skip to content

New Earth

March 9, 2009
Source: nasa.gov

Source: nasa.gov

I’m a bit late in acknowledging this but spaceship Kepler lifted off 2 days ago, March 6th on a 3.5 year mission in search for other earth-like planets.

The mission itself doesn’t sound too complex. The Artoo-like Kepler will park itself in orbit around the sun, stare nonstop at 100,000 stars near the Cygnus and Lyra constellations, between 600 and 3,000 light years away and report any blinking or dimming lights – evidence of orbiting planets.

They picked this spot in the galaxy to stare at, I presume because of its proximity to our solar system. If Kepler finds us a few candidate planets, it’ll take a few more probes and many decades before we can even imagine a manned excursion, something we may not wanna try until we’ve found a way to travel at warp 10.

I’m pretty sure Mars would have been colonised by then.

I know. When I’m reborn, I definitely wanna come back as a crew member of a starship. 🙂

Check out NASA’s Kepler Mission page here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. LC Teh permalink
    March 9, 2009 10:47 am

    *Sigh* Staring at a few thousand lights years away when we don’t even know what’s going to happen round the corner… Human optimism never fails to amaze me. (What the heck, it ain’t my money!)

    Maybe people have given up all hope of fixing their own backyards. As a programmer I know that sometimes its easier to rewrite code completely from scratch than attempt to patch up a badly written program.

  2. LC Teh permalink
    March 9, 2009 8:57 pm

    I know what you mean. I sometimes want to throw my products back to the designers after scratching my hair out trying to fix their problems in process.

    I also think that man is naturaly inquisitive. Never satisfied with what he has, he will set sail ships to explore new worlds as he used to do in the old days. Those boots are made for walking, as they say.

  3. March 10, 2009 9:31 am

    Mars…can stay 1 meh? =_= mars is like earth after hundreds of years

    Sure, they’re trying to find water there now. I wouldn’t mind volunteering an 80-year stay there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

