Skip to content

Nothing wrong on our side

March 13, 2009

Last week Tuesday, the internet connection in my office slowed to a crawl at the most inconvenient time. We had scheduled a virtual meeting with some people in the US and needed the webcam to be operational. I discovered as soon as I came in the morning that our network was crawling. A bandwidth speed test confirmed we were moving at less than a third our normal speed.

So I called up the ISP to report the problem.

After a long wait, a customer service officer picked up the phone.

“Yes sir, can I help you?” She said.

I gave her our corporate account number and described the problem.

“So can you tell me what’s holding up our line?” I asked.

The CSO put me on hold as she checks something. A few seconds later, she came back.

“Sir, I’ve checked. There’s nothing wrong on our side.” She said.

“Well check again, because its crawling on our side.” I replied.

“But sir, I’ve already checked. Maybe its your modem or router sir,” she says.

“No way,” I said. “We tried swapping those two with our spare ones and its still crawling.”

“But there’s nothing wrong on our side sir,” she insisted.

We went back and forth like that a few more times before I gave up. Other than to tell me, “Problem? What problem?” she obviously had no interest in troubleshooting or asking if she could send someone to my office. And she wouldn’t transfer me to her supervisor either.

So I hung up. We were forced to conference-call by phone to the US instead.

Here’s a hint for companies like this. If you’ve ever dreamed of competing globally, you can stop dreaming. When you meet real players like Comcast, UK’s Plusnet, even Singnet, you’ll be laughed at, paraded around town, then wiped out.

And no, its not the technology.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LC Teh permalink
    March 13, 2009 5:03 pm

    1st world technology
    3rd world monopoly

    Yeah, we had the same problem in the US when AT&T monopolized our phone service.

  2. March 15, 2009 9:47 pm

    Sounds like what I’ve experienced last time. 😛 I even argued with the person….and that person argued back =_=”

    Lets see if the attitude wall is strong enough to hold back the tide of globalization. 🙂

Leave a Reply

