Skip to content

Ping.sg and Blogged.my: Snapshots

March 30, 2009

Just out of curiosity, I took screenshots of ping.sg and a new blog aggregator blogged.my last Saturday, just the top part of the main page that lists “Most popular in the last 24 hours.” The other aggregators didn’t have this feature so I didn’t bother. The snapshots were taken at roughly the same time, around 2.20pm.

ping.sg

ping.sg

blogged.my

blogged.my

Check out the topics. Notice something?

Ping.sg’s top posts had these words: nude picture, penis, attractive girl, sexy Chinese models, shows her butt, hot pants, sex at public, braless.

Blogged.my had … well, a bit of everything. No noticeable pattern.

I guess if its traffic that you’re after, you know what makes you popular where. 🙂

But seriously, do you suppose this says anything about blog readers’ hot buttons each side of the causeway?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2009 9:00 am

    Well as they say “Sex Sells”!

    …and I used to ask why so many Singaporeans go to Bangkok. 😀

  2. March 30, 2009 9:17 am

    Hi Damien,

    I can tell you that Blogged.my has a automatic ping ranking system that takes into account sensational keywords in that particular ping and its relationship to current events.

    Yes, sex sells, but it’s just somewhat harder to get into the top posts.

    Right, either ping.sg uses a different algorithm to determine post popularity or its current events variable is set to sex… Hey good job in setting up blogged.my. 🙂

  3. March 30, 2009 10:04 am

    it’s a fact that juicy XXX sites/blogs will draw traffics 😉 you gonna change your blog into one too ??? ^^

    If I set up a XXX site I will do it on another blog, not on this one. Haha, kidding. Everything I write will be PG rated. 😀

  4. March 30, 2009 3:22 pm

    Sex and politics, 2 most popular topics 😉

    Entertainment gossip is giving politics a run for its money too. 😀

  5. LC Teh permalink
    March 30, 2009 4:50 pm

    Can it be the age group or gender ratio differences between the 2 areas that determine the preference for the greatly different topics? Or is it what they can’t find in the mainstream or elsewhere, they get it on line, esp this side of the causeway where the ‘elsewhere’ is widely accessible?

    It could be a bit of both. In Sg, the more mature crowd may not “fish” in the ping.sg pond because its hard to find topics they’re interested in there like local politics and the economy. But yeah I do notice that in Sg, the younger bloggers are more active whereas in Malaysia, it seems to be more evenly spread.

  6. March 30, 2009 10:22 pm

    More salty in sg i guess….hehehehe

    Yeah, must be. 🙂

  7. a n g e l e s permalink
    March 31, 2009 4:59 am

    and you’re at number 7 at this moment on blogged dot my 😉

    Really? 🙂 Dang, it must’ve picked up those sex keywords from ping.sg.

Leave a Reply

