Skip to content

How to brighten up your workplace?

April 6, 2009

Today I did something to bring a little life to my spartan desk at the office. I brought a small potted plant – green leaves and red flowers. It adds a welcome dash of color to the otherwise bare white walls, a beech-colored desk, a notebook and the bunch of books I surround myself with.

mws2

Wanna work here? ^_^

Being a minimalist and a compulsively neat person, my workplace looks kinda barren. I keep nothing but the essentials. Even a client once remarked, “Did you just move in here yesterday?” 🙂

I’ve seen workstations that look like a toy store. The most impressive one looked like Alice’s wonderland – with flowers, teddy bears, an a portable water fountain to top it off. And then you have places like mine that looks as if it was just assembled by the carpenter. I am realizing though that if you are particularly sensitive to your surroundings, then its worth your time to dress it up a little.

I mean if you are going to spend about 8 hours of your life every day in that little 6×6 area for years on end, then it might as well be a place you want to come back to.

So how does your workstation look like?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 10:02 am

    Wow. u got such a nice office.. look very cool lei ! Jealous 🙂

    Haha, just don’t put too many things on your desk and it will look cool. 😀

  2. LC Teh permalink
    April 6, 2009 3:52 pm

    I keep mine like a workshop with bits of problem samples around, once awhile clearing them off to make sure the 5S auditors leave me alone. I don’t really care about how it looks but just want things to be where I need them. But sometimes I need a little distraction to kill the boredom

    I read the lyrics. Haha, spoken like a true cubicle warrior. 😀

    Everyting I need is either in my head or in my notebook. Guess that explains why my desk is so bare.

  3. April 6, 2009 9:21 pm

    i put nothing but piles of A4 paper for me to scribble 😛
    but i do prefer clean and tidy work place. my current work place in my condo is bit too small due to lack of space and the bulky desktop machine. =_= need to redesign when i hv enuf money

    Since I can’t renovate my rented condo, I do the next best thing. I sit on the floor and use a collapsible meal tray I got from Ikea for my notebook. So I use that whenever I need to surf in my bedroom.

  4. LC Teh permalink
    April 7, 2009 8:11 am

    Did you listen to the audio? It’s a ‘tribute’ to James Blunt’s – “You’re Beautiful”. I enjoyed that…

    I just did and its brilliant!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

