Skip to content

Being neighborly

April 9, 2009

I might have mentioned this story in one of my posts before. I heard it from a friend.

A man who had just landed a job as a senior executive in one of Singapore’s largest bread suppliers moved into a condo. Wanting to be neighborly, he would hang a complementary loaf of bread on his neighbor’s doorknob every morning. He intended to do that for a week, sort of as an icebreaker.

The loaf would always be gone by the time he came home from work but he never saw the neighbor. Perhaps he works late into the night he thought.

So a week went by and as planned, he stopped with the bread.

The next morning, he woke up and found a note stuck on the grill of his unit. It read, “Where’s my bread??!!!”

Thank goodness I don’t have neighbors like that in my condo. Quite the opposite. Here’s I’ve received from them since I’ve lived there. Lets see…

  1. A dozen boxes of fresh strawberries
  2. Many slices of birthday cakes
  3. 2 crates of mandarin oranges
  4. A bunch of home-cooked meals, nicely packed
  5. A few jugs of freshly made fruit juices
  6. A dozen mangoes and a few bunches of grapes
  7. A sack of pomengranates (didn’t know how to eat them)
  8. A box of sweets or chocolates whenever one of them returns from an overseas trip
  9. A t-shirt

Every so often I’ll come home and find a surprise at my doorstep. I still do (it was home-made soup on Monday).

Yeah, I’m blessed with pretty decent neighbors. What have I done for them so far? Not much, I’m ashamed to admit. I gave the Wongs a portable fan when theirs broke down last year, helped the Gohs change a flat tire once, and helped them carry some heavy things. I chat with them whenever I meet them. They even offered to donate furniture to me, seeing how bare my unit is, which I declined.

My heart goes out to one of my friends who’s struggling with neighbors from hell. Neighbors do make a difference in your life.

This post is dedicated to my kind neighbors. Thanks a bunch for always making my day, if you’re reading this. You guys are great! 😀

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 9:23 am

    Mmm….for me, neighbor A hardly comes back. Neighbor B, speaks different language (Korean) and hardly come out. Neighbor C…..er…..the one before committed suicide a year ago, and now the unit is still vacant.

    Quite unique eh? 😛

    Yeah, its not everyday that you get to share a floor with a suicide vicitim. On the positive side, you must be enjoying pretty quiet surroundings. 🙂

  2. April 9, 2009 12:55 pm

    Wow, still friendliness still exist unexpectedly. As for my case, neighbor left, rented out for foreigners (mixture of Bangla, Vietnamese, Chinese) about 30 of them all men. Too risky to mix with them, neighbor right, before moving in, they purposely built a tall brick fence to cover up seeing each other. Thus you can conclude that there hardly much or any communication among them all. Though this is just a small town. Anyway I am used to that all.

    Hmm… that’s unfortunate. I’m glad I’m renting. If I don’t like the neighborhood, I can just pack up and move. 🙂

  3. April 9, 2009 10:42 pm

    mmm the suicide victim’s unit used to be occupied by a couple (the lady is VERY VERY PRETTY, that everytime i saw her…i looked at the ground….fearing that she might be floating) 😛

    mmm, not really quiet since i have construction work going on opposite my condo. =_=

    Haha, I know how that feels. One of my condo residents is a former beauty queen but she wasn’t floating, thank god. 🙂

  4. April 10, 2009 2:06 am

    yo …I’ve been reading your blog for quite a while..
    yeah i like your thoughts ..i just started a shop 6 months ago right after i graduate ..so i kinda feel you you know..
    am always lazy to comment ..anyway..wtf happened to blog number 2 ? so long didn’t update d

    -your fan/reader

    Hi dude, thanks a bunch for leaving a comment. I hope you’re seeing some good action at your shop. My blog#2, yeah that’s an off-and-on thing, depending on my mood. Its actually harder to write there than here because of the subject matter. 🙂 I was going to post something there a couple of days ago. I probably will this weekend.

Leave a Reply

