Skip to content

1300 comments, 2010 spam

April 20, 2009

I’m getting nearly 2 spam comments for every legit comment I receive on this blog. Wonder what you guys are getting.

The spammers are getting more resourceful. Now that spam filters have wised up to their creative spelling, the spam bots now pretend to be commenters from the US, Latvia and the Czech republic, apologizing for bad English and putting in a link to make you look. Some even go the extra mile and say, “This is not spam, you knucklehead!” to convince you they’re legit.

If you partied for Earth Hour, this report from Mcafee about the carbon footprint of email spam might interest you. It tells you how spam hurts the environment.

Now if only someone would do a carbon footprint study on Twitter.

Or Google or Facebook or the Internet for that matter. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 2:54 pm

    I have a pretty strong spam blocker which I created myself. I wonder should I sell that to get some side income. Better not say much, later I will be the focus of spam. 😛

    Yeah dude, sell it! Let me know if you need ethical spammers to test the strength of your filter, hehe. 🙂

  2. April 20, 2009 4:05 pm

    tat’s why i only auto approve those people who have commented before. 😛

    Yeah, felt kinda bad having to give up unrestricted commenting on this blog becoz of spam. Too many were flying thru Akismet’s filters.

  3. April 20, 2009 6:54 pm

    What is most annoying, I have found, is that these spam comments are sounding very real. If I didn’t pay extra attention to the email address and URL, I would have thought they were legit!

    Which only means one thing — spammers are really getting better at what they’re doing, and we aren’t catching up. Sad.

    Yeah, they’re always a few steps ahead of us. Cat and mouse.

Leave a Reply

