Skip to content

A toilet made me sick

May 4, 2009

Can a toilet make you sick? Well, this one did. (Don’t worry, this is a sanitized post.)

I had a little too much soda to drink with my take-away lunch yesterday. I desperately needed to go to the boys’ room so I decided to stop by a restaurant to do that. Parked my car, dashed in. “Through the kitchen, to the right,” the waiter pointed. I obliged.

I won’t tell you what I saw in there but I will tell you what happened to me as I drove off.

I felt sick. Yes, for the first time in my life I actually felt physically sick from seeing a toilet. My senses were reeling. It was so icky I instinctively wanted to take a bath, even though I had just taken one before I left my place. But I was late for my appointment so I pressed on. For the rest of the afternoon I pretty much staggered around Wan-Yu in a daze, unable to erase that image from my brain.

Ok so I’m weird. You see, I don’t mind a mess in my living room or bedroom. I don’t even mind leaving stacked plates on the dining table as I watch tv but there are two things I absolutely cannot stand. A dirty kitchen and a dirty bathroom.

And that restaurant failed spectacularly on both counts.

Eee-yucks!

(My appetite’s probably gone for a couple of days but I should be fine by Wednesday. πŸ™‚ )

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 9:19 pm

    you will not survive in

    1.Thailand
    2.China

    hehe πŸ˜‰

    I’ve never tried Thailand but the toilets I been to in Guangzhou and Shanghai were spick and span. Maybe becoz they were in hotels. The other place I had a nightmare with was the toilets in Funan Center, Singapore. Ugh!

  2. May 4, 2009 10:20 pm

    I can imagine what you saw, hehe. I have felt nausea many times before when i enter coffee shops’s toilets, and sometimes shopping complex’s toilets. They are all almost the same. I dislike sitting toilets for the same reasons. Squatting type at least not that bad.

    I’ve made a resolve never to step into another toilet in a coffee shop again. πŸ™‚

  3. May 5, 2009 10:10 am

    Some parts of the world don’t seem to progress with the times. I wonder how such restaurants get their licenses approved. Tells us a lot about enforcements. No wonder, they acted like they don’t own those toilets.

    I must be immune to such conditions, having the ‘luxury’ of growing up as a farm kid of the old century… hahaha. Maybe if you’d grown up on an animal farm you should be able to handle these toilets.

    OMG, a pig farm? My only farm experience involved corn and soybeans. The toilets were, well, 21st century. The neighboring farm had pigs but not us. In the US, the health inspectors would check on premise restrooms and restaurants could lose their license if they mess up.

  4. May 5, 2009 11:04 am

    What about those ‘kelong’ where anything you poop, will be fed to the fishes below? πŸ˜›

    Thanks. No more fish and chips for me for a whole month. πŸ˜€

  5. May 6, 2009 7:04 pm

    Guess what I saw in a toilet on campus not very long ago?!

    Apparently, somebody had to do her big business but she was also in a hurry she forgot to flush the toilet!! GROSS!

    By a girl? I am speechless….

Leave a Reply

