Skip to content

Give your parents something to do

May 18, 2009

“Keeping the brain active by working later in life may be an effective way to ward off Alzheimer’s disease, research suggests…. [Researchers] found that for the men, continuing to work late in life helped keep the brain sharp enough to delay dementia taking hold.”

Source

Ah, now I know why my dad insists on going to work even though he doesn’t have to.

If your parents are retired, probably one of the kinder things you can do for them is to give them something to do.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 9:51 am

    By what it says in this report here, I think ‘doing something’ is just one little part of the answer. Otherwise we have the easiest answer by letting my old folks argue their hearts out. πŸ˜€ OK, soon it’s our turn to be out in the pasture. But wife and I seldom argue πŸ™‚ (Her favorite method of attack is to tickle me if she doesn’t like something I said.)

    It looks like staying healthy and (wearing a crash helmet) is the best way to avoid this bad thing that happens mostly to old folks. I wouldn’t consider going back to work because it already gave me my blood pressure. I’ll try to avoid it like the plague.

    Just yesterday my mom looked at me and said to my wife, “Now that you’re out of work, why don’t you baby-sit for other working folks?”
    I asked, “Who? Me?”
    Wife did all she could not to roll her eyes. And I said, “Why make life difficult when it’s just getting easier?”

    I know, everyone’s more worried about money than anything else. But I’m keeping everything in perspective and within my budget. Why, we’ve been doing that all these years and it wasn’t that difficult, right?

    So, what’s wrong with having my guitar and brushes fight for my attention?

    Haha, you don’t have a problem coz soon your brush, guitar, camera and keyboard will be fighting each other for your attention. πŸ˜€

  2. May 18, 2009 11:03 am

    Play mahjong or sudoku, it helps πŸ™‚ My dad does that (and also busy composing complaint mails + learning photoshop). My mum always thinks of new recipe and learn how to make cookies/cakes/kuih (that’s why i’m so fat). πŸ˜›

    oh, now my dad is learning how to play guitar on rock band 2.

    Get them a Nintendo Wii, I guarantee they’ll love it. πŸ™‚

  3. May 18, 2009 11:08 am

    LOL , Rockband sounds good ..get him dance dance evolution too ..

    video it and youtube it πŸ˜›

    Sounds like a plan. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

