Skip to content

Colleagues: Think twice before sitting in the same plane together

June 8, 2009

By now, you would already know about Air France’s recent plane mishap over the Atlantic where 228 people disappeared. I was shocked when the news first broke. I have good memories of an Air France flight I took to Montreal once. Made friends with a wonderful crew. I don’t know their names and I really hope none of them were on board.

I was looking through the passenger list of Flight AF447 published by AP just now and was shocked to learn that six of the passengers were from one company, Liaoning-based Benxi Iron and Steel.

On board was their Director, assistant General Manager, Manager, Vice Manager, Section Chief, and a Department Head.

What was the company thinking – sending their big guns on the same flight? Didn’t they practice risk management? I know some companies have travel insurance policies that prohibit this practice but this one must have fallen thru the cracks. On top of having to deal with the victims’ families, the company now faces a sudden and huge handicap in its organization.

Yes there’s a risk in everything we do. An office block could be engulfed in a fire, putting everyone at risk. But I think its not exactly apple-to-apple. There are big differences in cost and chance of survival. Which is cheaper, maintaining operations in many separate locations or buying a one-off ticket for a separate flight. Which gives a higher chance of survival, a group escaping a building fire or falling 35,000 feet without a parachute.

Think about it when you’re asked to get on the same plane with your boss, especially if you’d rather run around the block naked that sit next to him on a long haul flight.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 8:14 am

    Yes, never send your high management folks on the same flight…and never place them in the same office. Tell them to rotate – work from home + work in office. 😛 So if someone bombs the building, there will be someone who can still run the show. 😀

    Maybe i should tell my boss – I need to work fr home just in case someone bombs the building. 😀

    I’m sure he’ll let you if you’re part of the senior management team. Some companies will even buy “key man insurance.” Different risk management rules apply at different levels I guess.

  2. June 11, 2009 9:05 pm

    Unfortunately, I’m not. =_= Now I’m just hoping those Aussie bosses won’t be bringing H1N1 to my office. =_=

    Haha, looks like the WHO just declared h5n1 a pandemic. Saw it on CNN this morning.

  3. June 13, 2009 9:24 am

    yea, level 6 and some of my friends are still not worried at all.

    gosh, i’ve been having minor cough n flu for few days. must be the haze. but other people won’t think so. better barricade myself at home.

    I’m getting affected by the haze too. Guess I’m gonna stay indoors this weekend.

  4. tinytapir permalink
    October 2, 2009 7:42 pm

    my first job was for an american company, and when all us newbies went for training, they flew us out on different planes.

    I suppose this could even be extended, if husband and wife are travelling together (with a kid at home), they should take different flights.

    I would think the boss would sit in business / first, and peons would be back in economy no? ;P

    You didn’t work for Hewlett Packard did you?

    No, the peons sit in the cargo hold, lol. 😀

Leave a Reply

