Skip to content

Bought anything from a brochure lately?

July 15, 2009

I have. A pizza.

I’ve never bought a cellphone or anything more complicaed than a CD from a brochure but strangely, I’ve come across many salesmen who practice brochure selling.

Reminds me of that salesgirl from the package delivery company that I called up to enquire.

She danced around all my questions, deflecting them to her company’s glossy. “I’ll send you our brochure,” she said. “Read it first and if you have any questions, call me.” Click. She hung up.

Interesting. If brochures can sell, then why employ salespeople?

Haha, I forgot. Local companies need their GROs and geishas for entertainment. πŸ˜€

Anyway, unless you’re selling pizza, a supermarket or selling tour packages, I really don’t see how far brochures can bring you. They can help convey information, yes, but will they seal the deal for you? Doubtful. I mean, I don’t know if anyone ever bought a car off a brochure. Do you?

Brochures are meant by their makers to be supplements but they cannot do magic. Its one of those things many salesmen find hard to understand.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 11:02 am

    I think other than food, the only other “purpose” a brochure serves me is for that of membership sign-ups.

    Yes, that too. Welcome to my blog by the way. πŸ™‚

  2. July 15, 2009 5:00 pm

    Brochures are there to replace salesman. Salesman = more focus. Brochures = target more people. That is why you don’t see salesman in Tesco πŸ˜›

    I did bump into some promotion ladies who asked me try their air freshener. The guys at the meat section were also shouting their wares. πŸ™‚

  3. July 16, 2009 9:09 am

    Mmm… those are promoters right? 😐 Promoters don’t give me the impression that they’re desperate enough. Unlike the salesman..

    In-store promoters are there for the same reason as salesmen – to talk to customers and influence them to buy. Some get a flat salary but many get commission from sales based on cash register reports. Either way their function is the same as a salesman, except on a less personal basis.

  4. July 17, 2009 12:12 pm

    One thing I do know, they’re good for stuffing up your mailbox, preventing the postman from delivering your mail and littering up your porch if you’re not home for the whole week, informing would be burglars it’s a good time to find out what’s inside…

    Haha, that’s a good one. If anyone’s curious why costs are high, just look at all the stuff they’re printing and stuffing in your mailbox. Even my mailbox in California doesn’t get that much stuff. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

