Skip to content

Do you believe in fortune tellers?

August 14, 2009

When I was on break in Singapore recently a couple of my girl friends asked if I could accompany them to see a fortune teller.

Since one of them offered to drive I went along just for the hell of it. The fortune teller is an old Chinese man staying in one of the HDB areas south of the island.

The consultation done in a room in his flat so I couldn’t hear what was going on but my first friend emerged after about 20 minutes looking happy. The second friend went in and 15 minutes later came out with a smile.

“What about you?” the fortune teller said in Mandarin. It caught me off guard as I was just there to chaperone these girls. He assumed I wanted a reading so he beckoned me to come in so I said to myself what the heck I’ll just play along.

He took 15 minutes to read my hands and face and used a deck of cards (not tarot – this one had Chinese writing on them) to complete the reading. About 8 minutes analysis which included referring to a tung shu manual (I think), 8 minutes telling me about my past, present and future. I hardly said a word during the session other than to tell him my birth date.

It was entertaining and I emerged with a smile.

How accurate was it? Well. He was generally right about my past. You can’t go wrong when people say you were brought up in a good home and you once had a serious illness. Most kids have that right?

He was also generally right about my present. You can’t go wrong when people tell you you travel a lot (heck everybody travels in Sg. Where else can you go on the crummy island?), you’re doing quite well despite the economic crisis (I wasn’t dressed in rags or looked like I needed a shave), and you’ve yet to settle down (being in my 20’s I don’t have that “married” look. Not even a ring on my fingers.) I guess my present is not that hard to figure out.

He did say something odd about my future which I’ll keep mum about for now. Not that I believe it but lets just say I would be a very happy dude if that ever happens. šŸ˜€

So we paid the moolah and left after that. And I got punched in the arm for laughing my ass off in the car.

What about you? Ever had a fortune teller’s prediction come true on you?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 10:40 pm

    Heck, one told me my job was easy. How wrong she was. She also said I don’t have luck in numbers. That one I already knew.

    Good fortune tellers will normally stick with things that are hard to go wrong. Its amazing what they can tell about about you just from keen observation of your adornments and mannerism.

  2. August 17, 2009 8:07 am

    One told me I’m a good son, which is true. LOL. And told me I can perform if I write for people….or anything to do with Pencil/Pen. The other told me I should use PC and stuff. MMmmmmm.

    Oh ya, the first fortune teller was from China..the Haerbin…or whatever it is called in English and he only charged me RM 10

    Didn’t any one of them tell you when you’ll strike your millions? šŸ™‚

  3. August 21, 2009 8:19 am

    The guy won’t talk anything about fortune and romance thingy. He said those are best explored by ourselves. He was merely giving people some guidelines. Mmmm, that’s why I kinda believe him if compared to all those nonsense fortune tellers out there.

    Hmm, then he’s missing out on a lot of business isn’t he. For most girls, relationship and marriage are often the only reasons why they seek out fortune tellers.

  4. August 22, 2009 10:03 am

    Yeah, he’s quite a blunt person. I think he’s not really in for the ‘business’ side of things. He did say that fortune tellers are not supposed to have good life because of the nature of their jobs.

    One thing I’ve always wondered. Do fortune tellers tell their own fortunes? lol…

Leave a Reply

