Skip to content

Does Facebook do this to you?

August 21, 2009
  • When you wake up in the morning, your notebook is the first thing you lunge for instead of your usual cup of coffee.
  • When you’re in a cafe with friends and waiting for your orders, every one of you have got your eyes glued to your phones checking out your FB. No one says a word to each other.
  • The TV and playstation at home gathers dust coz everyone’s busy in their bedrooms FB-ing.
  • FB is the last thing you turn off instead of the customary lights before you go to bed.
  • And the picture below makes you drop everything that you’re doing and want to rush to the PC.

logo_facebook

If that describes you, then let me thump you on the back and say dude, get a life!

I’m proud to say I’m FB-less to this day. Oh I know it quite well and am helping design some FB apps for a friend but you know what? I still enjoy my friends the old fashioned way… over drinks, nachos and loud music on a Friday night.

Nachos

Cheers! πŸ˜€

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2009 8:32 am

    i only go to FB to update status (sometimes reply to other ppl’s status) and of coz, look at other people’s photos. LOL. that’s about it =_=

    not into the games but m thinking whether i shld try develop a flash game. LOL. or maybe a Google Wave plugin… mmmm….

    by the way, hv u seen Wave? wat do u think bout it?

    I’ve seen the intro vid but not much else. The idea is fantastic and definitely, my open source partner and I will be looking to develop stuff on that platform once its become more solid of a product.

  2. August 21, 2009 4:45 pm

    huh?FB stands for facebook? i thought FB stands for Fvck Buddy

    Yeah, you wish. Hey why isn’t gapnap on facebook already? Better register the name b4 someone jacks it, lol.

  3. August 22, 2009 12:45 pm

    i registered using my real name , clement cheng

    err..i think putting nicknames on facebook is freakin lame ..right ?
    imagine telling your friends ..

    “dude , add me on facebook lah , search for my nickname “dragonhunter-x”
    or some shit .

    Oh, I thot gapnap wasn’t just a nick. Isn’t it like a brand you are building up that got you tangled with that dude (from Europe?) who registered gapnap domain name? Brands have value and people use whatever media they get (incl FB) to increase that value. Anyway I do reckon that Gapnap guitars are a lot easier to position in the mind, internationally at least, than Clement Cheng guitars…

  4. August 24, 2009 10:31 am

    I have to envy you on this one…

    I can’t stray too far from FB cos’ that’s my window to the world where almost every member of my friends and family now resides, without having to get in the car and drive. Besides that’s also where my Art Gallery now ‘squats’ (on TOL). There’s another “stall” where I put price tags on my stuffs. Do drop by… πŸ™‚

    Yeah I saw your work on FB and artbreak. Cool! When’s your solo exhibit?

  5. August 25, 2009 2:40 am

    hmm …yeah , i always wanted gapnap guitars …but

    i realized .
    the mistake was , i am not building the brand at all . I am just building myself .
    The brand is me . without me it doesn’t have any value .

    Whats the point then ? So that i can work for all my life ?

    If the brand is you, then you should have used your own name in the first place and dropped gapnap. But I think your online frens identify you more with your “accidental” brand gapnap am I right? To me a brand is just an imaginary container for reputation. Online, I think your gapnap container has more stuff in it than the one with your real name. Reputation doesn’t have to be all about work. If you’ve developed a bad boy image (which is your personal brand) then you’ll attract chicks who dig bad brands.

  6. August 25, 2009 1:24 pm

    “When’s your solo exhibit?”
    My target is 1 or 2 years… somewhere in between.

    You’re going along well then. You’re already developing a brand on Facebook I see.

  7. August 26, 2009 8:02 pm

    You’re right. ‘Branding’ is part of the plan.

    Excellent. I wonder how other artists get discovered besides doing exhibits. Doing it on the internet should be an interesting study.

  8. August 27, 2009 9:25 pm

    Well…. a search of the internet shows up countless websites featuring endless lists of artists and their works. Getting ‘discovered’ by art buyers is about as easy as getting poked by a needle in a haystack. Best I got so far for my efforts are nice, polite comments by other artists. Even peer approval has to be earned first.

    On my last day at work a colleague offered to help sell my works for a 20% commission. I immediately took up the offer. So far I haven’t heard from him. I never expect it to be a piece of cake anyway. πŸ˜€

    You’re walking down that path I walked when I first started up my business. Keep at it, have faith and be creative in reaching out. I think you’ll get somewhere. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

