Skip to content

The curse of buying expensive things

September 8, 2009

I absently mindedly paid for my breakfast in renminbi instead of ringgit this morning. My 100 yuan notes got all mixed up with my RM10 notes. You should’ve seen the look on the hawker’s face when she stared at Mr. Mao, lol. šŸ˜€

100yuan
I’ve really got to sort out the mess of SGD, HKD, yuan, ringgit and some Korean won I’ve got stuffed in my wallet.

I slept most of Monday trying to get over my travel lethargy, then went out in the afternoon to shop for a notebook backpack. The zipper on my Targus malfunctioned after I went through customs at Shanghai Pudong. Damn. It was quite a new bag too.

As a sidenote I left Shanghai this trip wondering about one thing. Do the people of China consider overseas Chinese Chinese? I was treated more like a Westerner. Okay maybe it was my accent and my sucky Mandarin and my silly American jokes, but don’t they take into account my extended relatives in the area? (Mom’s side).

shtrans
So anyway I got me an $80 bag at Digital Mall yesterday, one with 3 compartments. One for my notebook, one for my drawing tablet (yup I got me a low-end Wacom Bamboo), and one for my portable hard drive. Yeah I went for a cheap bag this time.

I don’t own a high-end notebook, phone or car. In hindsight I think I made a good choice. I don’t develop attachments to them and if I have to lose them, it won’t upset me. Well, except for my $300 Targus with the malfunctioned zip. Now I don’t know what to do with it.

The more money I spend on something, the more upsetting it is to lose it. How’s that for a hint on how to live life without fear. šŸ™‚

If you spend on practical modestly priced things, then you aren’t afraid to lose ’em.

That was the lesson of the month for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 3:05 pm

    nice lesson šŸ™‚
    A new way for me to look at things …
    That applies to my relationship as well , gotta tell my gf about this ..LOL ..

    What time you went digital mall ? We were there at 8pm , got pissed because ALL IT Hypermarket was closed..

    Uhh… careful when u tell yr gf. She might think its yr hint to dump her for a cheaper girl, hehe.

    I was at Digital Mall on Sunday evening, about 6pm. I posted this post a day after I went there.

  2. September 9, 2009 9:26 am

    ooo nice lesson…mmmm maybe i should think bout my apple macbook pro plan. mmmmm.

    eh, wacom bamboo is not cheap too !!

    My brother was complaining about sending his macbook pro for repairs for the 4th time this year. Some pixelization problem. But I suppose its worth it if the machine can do things others can’t. The Bamboo, I got it for about Sgd250. Not too bad…

  3. September 13, 2009 10:57 pm

    Repair the zipper and keep that as a spare.
    As for your chinaman status, you can stay in china for a few years and learn to speak their lingo. Then they’ll accept you as one of them… Years ago I had to entertain one Canadian Chinese guy from our Aussie branch. He actually looked like a street-kid from Jelutong (Penang’s one-upon-a-time slum area) but his Canadian English accent was so heavy without looking at him, nobody would believe he’s Chinese.

    Yeah, if only I knew where I could send it in for repairs. Its kind of a long zip that goes nearly all the way around the bag. The zipper head got derailed from the track.

    When people speak to me on the phone they think I’m an American gwei loh. I have a cousin who speaks like an Australian. He’s born there so we’re kind of used to the speech confusion. I have been trying to speak Singlish for a few years now. Not doing a very good job of it I’m afraid. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

