Skip to content

Gore movie

September 14, 2009

La la la …

Seen the latest Final Destination movie? If you’ve got a queasy stomach, I would think twice. For me, this is easily the most gruesome of all the FD sequels I’ve seen so far.

fd4-scene

It is a short movie, less than 1 hour 30 minutes. It stayed faithful to the old FD style plot. A dude has visions of carnage involving him and his friends. He hustles them out (well, mostly) just before disaster strikes. They all disbelieve him but later as they get picked off one by one, get terrorized into believing him. They frantically try to stop death by avoiding things in the vision. Then they realize that no matter how hard they intervene, no one can cheat predestined death so one by one, they hit the bucket in all sorts of gory ways.

Yeah. Been there, done that.

Some worthy notes:

– death is very particular about sequence. If the guy’s vision says A dies in an accident followed by B, no matter how hard you try to prevent that accident, both will still die. However B will not die until A is dead. I think death should work in a bank. They too follow procedures to the letter there.

– people who die in these visions are all thin and beautiful. Fat and ugly people won’t die so listen up. If you wanna live long, be fat and ugly.

– don’t be a cheapskate. If your coin rolls into a gutter or swimming pool, let it go. Otherwise nasty things can happen to you. šŸ˜€

This is not a mind-torturing flick by any stretch of the imagination. A strictly popcorn and soda affair, the whole point of movies like this is for you to show up with your gf (or bf if you are so inclined) so she can scream and snuggle up at you during the show. And the fact that this is the 4th installment of the show tells me that folks actually like this stuff.

There is however one thing that I took back with me. Its how big things in our lives usually start from very small things. For example, if you left home 30 seconds early for work this morning, its possible that your safe arrival at the office meant that you beat a nasty accident on the road by a hair’s breadth. Perhaps someone occupying the spot on the road you would have occupied 30 seconds ago got sideswiped by a runaway truck and he’s now in happyland. It could’ve been you.

Think about it. Wooo wooo….

2 stars out of 5.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 12:32 am

    whats with la la la and wooo wooo ?

    damn ..i am kinda jealous of you now ..i am so busy and i don’t even know whats on the screens šŸ˜¦

    Speaking bout gore movies..

    Have you ever watched those 80’s Japanese Gore movies ?
    Those are the sickest , you can see shit like drilling a hole at the girl’s stomach , then the killer insert his penis in the hole , and starts raping it . yuck .

    Dude what were you doing watching stuff like that!! Who can beat the Japs when it comes to sick & twisted stuff. But I must admit they do make nice cars…

    If you want weekends off, set up a biz where your clients disappear on weekends. That’s why I’m not in retail. šŸ˜›

  2. September 15, 2009 1:10 pm

    movie on weekends ? no thanks ..

    1.Traffic Jam in the noons
    2.No parking
    3.No ticket , or long cue
    4.RM10 movie ticket
    5.Sometimes you just wanna watch the movie and go home , but on weekends you WILL bump into your friends , old schoolmate etc in a shopping mall.

    I rather go on Wednesday or Thursday Mornings šŸ˜›

    Isn’t bumping into friends part of the fun of going-out? No?

  3. September 17, 2009 10:23 pm

    I fully agree with you. Moreover, I leads me to think about today’s society and its sickness. There is so much crap happening all over the globe, what is the interest in creating movies or other media illustrating the same or even sicker brutalities?

    Really, I am not a pussy and I am not scared when seeing this kind of movies, it’s just not amusing me. For me it’s kind of disgusting that most of the people seem just be attracted and entertained by extreme things.

    One very bad example for me is the movie called ‘Hostel’. It is combining all the cruel things which currently happen with the human kind:

    – Rich people use poor people for their entertainment
    – People are bored by “normal” entertainment -> they need the hard stuff to get excited
    – One person will hurt another person just for it’s own pleasure. There is no conscience anymore. Just because of the fact’s that’s “cool” to burn another person’s face and hear them scream they’ll do it. Even more absurd, they will enjoy every single second of that.

    For me it’s a shame that there are people earning money with this trash. I see all my friends paying up to 10 Euros to see this kind of shit on a huge wall in a Cinema.

    I even had a argument with my girlfriend when we where in Final Destination 4. I didn’t see the previous movies but knew more or less what happened. But I was thinking it would have been packed within an intelligent frame, a movie with a message to understand. And she told me that’s the fact. When we were in the movie, I quickly realized that’s just a splatter movie just done for the joy of seeing other people die in cruel ways. So I did not like that video and we got into an argument after it. I just don’t want my girlfriend to be excited by sick things. I do not want her to become a blood-horny animal but a human being with human feelings and interests.

    Greetz,
    Steve

  4. September 19, 2009 1:15 am

    i’ll live long then.

    What do you do, drive a tank? šŸ™‚

  5. September 19, 2009 11:43 am

    Nope. I’m quite fat and not good looking. hahaha

    Hmm u shud consider joining “The biggest loser” program on AXN, lol…

Leave a Reply

