Skip to content

How to make cashiers not want your money

October 29, 2009

Yesterday I learned an excellent way to save money. You may already be a master at this.

Here’s what you need:

1. A wallet with 1 or two pieces of the biggest banknotes you can find. $100 notes are ideal. Put away anything smaller than a $50.

2. A straight face.

Here’s what you do.

You’re out with a couple of friends for a drink. The bill comes, let’s say for $24.90. You open up your wallet, slap your forehead and say loudly, “Oh shit, I only have a $100 note!”

Cashiers love customers with small change and if your friends are normal well-balanced people, they’ll have a wad of $1’s, $5’s and $10’s in their wallets. So at the cashier…

– Friend A holds out 2 $10’s and a $5.

– Friend B holds out a $50.

– You hold out your $100 bill.

Guess whose money will the cashier take?

Go ahead, try it and see what happens.

The good thing about this technique is, you can always lay it on the cashier for not wanting your money. 😀 You get a free ride and nobody can blame you for not offering to pay.

As for your friend, you could tell him you’ll pay him back once you get your hands on some small change. Not that it matters coz in 3 days time, he’ll forget about it and so will you.

Remember, the trick is to never keep anything smaller than a $50 in your wallet whenever you’re out on some social entertaining.

My gratitude to my sifu Mr. I-Never-Have-Small-Change for this wonderful tip. 😛

What about you, have any “good” tips to share?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 3:37 pm

    @Alvin . you’re gonna yamcha with Damien soon right ?
    Now you know his trick . I suggest you tell him “i forgot to bring my wallet”

    @Damien . Huray , you managed to escape a RM24.90 bill ! You still have your RM100 with you . You left your friends and its time to go home now .

    Lets just say you’re in 1utama . And suddenly you realized that you need to pay that RM1 parking fee .

    Have you try putting in RM100 inside the parking machine ?
    I’ve tried putting RM50 , and FARK ME . My change were all 50 cent coins .

    Forgot to bring a wallet excuse? Lame. You can only pull that trick twice before the gang know what you’re up to. 🙂

    The no-small-change trick you can pull off as many times as you like. For parking? Easy. You’ve got 2 trouser pockets right? One for your I-have-no-change wallet, the other for your normal $1’s and $5’s to use when no one’s looking. See, I’ve such a great sifu. 😀

  2. October 30, 2009 8:16 am

    LOL gappie, it happened to me before @ KLCC. i put in RM 50 for RM 22 parking. Normally the machine’ll return RM 5 notes but…well, it gave me all 50 cent coins. I was forced to use my laptop bag to store those coins. =_=

    Yam cha with Damien? Got meh? He so freaking busy la. Bz businessman.

    Haha, trouble is I’m buzy not doing business. I’m buzy spending too much time in and out of airports. 😀

  3. October 30, 2009 11:06 pm

    Wah, the way Damien teaches people on how to avoid paying for the bill….somehow gives me the feeling that he’ll become a chinaman boss next time. ish ish. that’s not very healthy, u know.

    For health I pump iron twice a week, hehe. lol…

  4. October 31, 2009 2:31 am

    yeah

    Damien = one heck of a thrifty SOB

    Actually I am always broke, haha!

  5. November 1, 2009 7:18 pm

    That’s a pretty old trick. Fred Astaire did it in Towering Inferno. (He ‘tried’ to pay the cab-man with $100 note. ) That’s how old that trick is… 😀

    You serious? So that’s where my sifu got it from. Hey, you posted your comment with new details, that’s why WP put your comments on the approval queue. You’ve set up a new blog I see. 😀

  6. November 6, 2009 11:40 am

    Oops! That was my tryout blog. I’m putting under testing.

    Your p&c blog?

Leave a Reply

